Martha Argerich Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 K2 HD Import CD

Martha Argerich

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Limited Edition K2 HD Mastering Japanese Import CD!

24-Bit/100kHz Mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD will play on ALL CD players!

This recording has been mastered by the K2 HD format of 24-bit 100kHz, which creates an unbelievable sound surpassing other formats!

Martha Argerich's third recording of Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1, recorded live with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Claudio Abbado, surpasses her earlier and legendary performances. Also included is Argerich's 1983 performance of The Nutcracker where she's partnered with Nicolas Economou in his own arrangement.

"Some artists grow into a sort of proprietary relationship with certain pieces of music. If anyone today owns this concerto, it's Martha Argerich. She's recorded it three times, and this latest version seems to sum up an entire lifetime of living with and loving the music. Not only does Argerich simply find more in the notes than almost anyone else, she also does it with a sense of complete spontaneity and naturalness. She's also the most exciting pianist alive, which certainly doesn't hurt in such dazzling music. Claudio Abbado is one of her regular concerto accompanists, and he knows better than to try to take over an Argerich performance. This is her show, and he gives her the kind of support she needs to feel free to work her interpretive magic." -David Hurwitz

• Limited Edition
• K2 HD 100kHz / 24-bit Mastering
• Made in Japan

Martha Argerich, piano
Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado, conductor
Nicolas Economou, piano (on The Nutcracker - Suite)

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893)
Piano Concerto No.1 in B flat minor, Op.23
1. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro con spirito
2. Andantino semplice - Prestissimo - Tempo I
3. Allegro con fuoco
Nutcracker Suite, Op.71a (Arr. Nicolas Economou for 2 pianos)
4. 1. Ouverture miniature: Allegro giusto
5. 2. Danses caractéristiques. a. Marche: Tempo di marcia viva
6. 2. Danses caractéristiques. b. Danse de la Fée Dragée: Andante non troppo
7. 2. Danses caractéristiques. c. Danse russe Trépak: Tempo di Trepak, molto vivace
8. 2. Danses caractéristiques. d. Danse arabe: Allegretto
9. 2. Danses caractéristiques. e. Danse chinoise: Allegro moderato
10. 2. Danses caractéristiques. f. Danse des mirlitons: Moderato assai
11. 3. Valse des Fleurs: Tempo di valse

Customers Also Like