Genre: R&B
Label: Motown
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Marvin Gaye Volume Three 1971-1981 180g 8LP Box Set

Marvin Gaye

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set!

Following Volume One and Volume Two, Marvin Gaye Volume Three: 1971-1981 is a collection of his last seven Motown studio albums on 180g vinyl in one fantastic box!

Commonly referred to as the "Prince of Soul", Marvin Gaye helped to shape the sound of Motown Records and was one of the greatest voices to emerge from the label.

On June 1, 1970, Gaye recorded his new composition What's Going On in Hitsville, U.S.A., inspired by an idea from Renaldo "Obie" Benson of The Four Tops after he witnessed an act of police brutality at an anti-war rally in Berkeley. Released in 1971, it reached number on on the R&B charts within a month, staying there for five weeks. The album became Marvin Gaye's first million-selling album launching two more top ten singles "Mercy Mercy Me" and "Inner City Blues". One of Motown's first autonomous works, its theme and segue flow brought the concept album format to rhythm and blues.

In 1971, Gaye signed a $1million dollar deal with Motown, making it the most lucrative deal by a black recording artist at the time. Marvin Gaye first responded to the new contract with the soundtrack and subsequent score, Trouble Man, released in late 1972. In 1973, he released the "Let's Get It On" album., its title track becoming Gaye's second number one single on the Hot 100. The album, which stayed on the charts for two years, later was hailed as "a record unparalleled in its sheer sensuality and carnal energy".

Marvin's final duet project, Diana & Marvin, with Diana Ross, garnered international success despite contrasting artistic styles. The album "I Want You" followed in 1976 with the title track becoming a number-one R&B hit.

Ini 1978, Marvin Gaye issued "Here, My Dear", inspired by the fallout of his first marriage to Anna Gordy. Recorded as an intent for Gaye to remit a portion of its royalties to her to receive alimony payments, it initially flopped on the charts but turned into a cult album in later years. Gaye then reworked Love Man from its original disco concept to another personal album invoking religion and the possible end time from a chapter in the Book of Revelation. Titling the album In Our Lifetime, Gaye worked on the album for much of 1980 in London studios such as Air and Odyssey Studios.

• 8LP Box Set (7 albums)
• 180g Vinyl

What's Going On
Side A:

1. What's Going On
2. What's Happening Brother
3. Flyin' High (In the Friendly Sky)
4. Save the Children
5. God Is Love
6. Mercy Mercy me (The Ecology)
Side B:
7. Right On
8. Wholy Holy
9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)

Trouble Man
Side A:

1. Main Theme from Trouble Man (2)
2. "T" Plays It Cool
3. Poor Abbey Walsh
4. Break In (Police Shoot Big)
5. Cleo's Apartment
6. Trouble Man
7. Theme from Trouble Man
Side B:
8. "T" stands for Trouble
9. Main Theme from Trouble Man (1)
10. Life Is A Gamble
11. Deep-In-It
12. Don't Mess with Mister "T"
13. There Goes Mister "T"

Let's Get It On
Side A:

1. Let's Get It On
2. Please Don't Stay (Once You Go Away)
3. If I Should Die Tonight
4. Keep Gettin' It On
Side B:
5. Come Get To This
6. Distant Lover
7. You Sure Love To Ball
8. Just To Keep You Satisfied

Diana & Marvin (with Diana Ross)
Side A:

1. You Are Everything
2. Love Twins
3. Don't Knock My Love
4. You're A Special Part of Me
5. Pledging My Love
Side B:
6. Just Say, Just Say
7. Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart)
8. I'm Falling In Love With You
9. My Mistake (Was To Love You)
10. Include Me In Your Life

I Want You
SIde A:

1. I Want You (vocal)
2. Come Live With Me Angel
3. After the Dance (instrumental)
4. Feel All My Love Inside
5. I Wanna Be Where You Are
Side B:
6. I Want You (intro jam)
7. All the Way Around
8. Since I Had You
9. Soon I'll Be Loving You Again
10. I Want You (intro jam)
11. After the Dance (vocal)

Here, My Dear (2LP)
Side A:

1. Here, My Dear
2. I Met A Little Girl
3. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You
4. Anger
Side B:
5. Is That Enough
6. Everybody Needs Love
7. Time To Get It Together

Side C:
1. Sparrow
2. Anna's Song
3. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You (instrumental)
Side D:
4. A Funky Space Reincarnation
5. You Can Leave, But It's Going To Cost You
6. Falling In Love Again
7. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You (reprise)

In Our Lifetime
Side A:

1. Praise
2. Life Is For Learning
3. Love Party
4. Funk Me
Side B:
5. Far Cry
6. Love Me Now Or Love Me Later
7. Heavy Love Affair
8. In Our Lifetime

Customers Also Like