Genre: Folk
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Mary Black No Frontiers 180g LP

Mary Black

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition 180 Gram Vinyl! Re-mastered by Ray Staff! Complex & Powerful Album! Sweet & Clear Vocals! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

For the last quarter-century, singer Mary Black has been a dominant presence in Irish music, both at home and abroad. She has shared stages, tv shows and recording studios with some of the most revered performers of her time. She has also played a frontline role in bringing Irish music, past and present, to an increasingly appreciative and ever-growing global audience. The San Francisco Chronicle has described her as "One of the best interpretative singers around".

At a time when less adventurous performers preferred to stick exclusively to the well-worn ballads from Ireland’s rich music heritage and the more obvious hits from contemporary writers, Mary explored the best work available from new composers and mined the rich seams they offered. That commitment to fresh material, combined with her unique interpretations of the songs she chooses, saw her release numerous albums that achieved platinum sales status and spawned countless hits. Indeed, No Frontiers spent more than a year in the Irish Top 30!

To the acclaim and awards Mary has received over the years from both the public and the critics must also be added the esteem she has generated from her fellow artists. Indeed, many of them have recorded and performed live with her, including Emmylou Harris, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Joan Baez and Van Morrison, not to mention a host of Irish traditional musicians and singers.

"Mary Black's 1989 'No Frontiers' is nothing short of a masterpiece. This (and the follow up 1991's 'Babes in the Wood') was when Black was at her creative and vocal peak. 'No Frontiers' (the song) has become something of an Irish classic, a party piece for so many (ever the Corrs covered it on 'Unplugged') and 'Past the Point of Rescue' was a massive country hit in 1991 for Hal Ketchum. Both songs are superb and Black's versions are the greatest. 'Carolina Rua' and 'Vanities' (featured on the huge selling 'A Woman's Heart') are well known but it is the darker 'Columbus' and the mesmerizing 'Fat Valley of Pain' that showcase both the heartbreak and the depth of the album. A fine introduction to Black's music - the right mixture of folk and contemporary and one of the finest albums to come out of Ireland in the 1980s." - John Canning

"'Shuffle of the Buckled' sounds as if it were written for Black and the title track makes equally good use of her achingly sweet and clear voice... On this album Black seems to have gained control of the modern influences that had taken over on Without the Fanfare, and the result is one of her more complex and powerful albums." - Rick Anderson,

• 180 Gram Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Re-mastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London
• Gatefold Jacket
• Analogue limited edition

Mary Black, vocals
Declan Sinnott, guitar
Noel Bridgeman, percussion
Garvan Gallagher, double bass
Pat Crowley, accordian, piano
Carl Geraghty, saxophone

Side One:

1. No Frontiers
2. Past The Point Of Rescue
3. The Shadow
4. Carolina Rua
5. Shuffle Of The Buckled
6. Columbus
Side Two:
1. Another Day
2. Fat Valley Of Pain
3. I Say A Little Prayer
4. Vanities
5. The Fog In Monterey

Customers Also Like