Genre: Folk
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Mary Black Speaking With the Angel 180g LP

Mary Black

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition, Audiophile Remastering, High Quality 180 Gram Vinyl! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Mary Black's sound has always been a mixture of traditional Irish folk singers like Dolores Keane and California country-pop singers like Linda Ronstadt. Black altered the balance of that blend when she traveled from Ireland to California to record her album, "Shine," with Joni Mitchell's producer, Larry Klein. For her next album, "Speaking With the Angel," Black has returned to her Dublin home, and her co-producers Donal Lunny and Steve Cooney have relied heavily on fiddles, accordions and tin whistles in the arrangements.

Despite the Irish-folk trappings of this project, there's still a lot of California in Black's approach. Sometimes this is a liability, as when she lends a melodramatic whisper to Dougie MacLean's "Broken Wings" or an ersatz blues shuffle to Shane Howard's "Don't Say Okay." And sometimes the California flavor is a real asset, as when she massages the Brian Wilson-like chord changes on Neil Finn's "Fall at Your Feet" or when she belts out the lust-laden pop hook of Noel Brazil's "Big Trip to Portland."

Black is at her best, though, when her Irish roots and her American aspirations find an appropriate balance, as they do on "I Live Not Where I Love," a traditional folk song done up in a chamber-pop arrangement. You can also hear that balance in Black's tributes to one of her favorite singers, London's Sandy Denny ("Moments").

• Limited Edition 180g Vinyl
• Audiophile Remastering
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Gatefold Jacket
• Stereo

Side 1:

1. Turning Away
2. Cut By Wire
3. Don't Say Okay
4. Bless the Road
5. Broken Wings
6. Fall At Your Feet
Side 2:
1. Message of Love
2. Moments
3. Speaking With the Angel
4. Big Trip to Portland
5. I Live Not Where I Love
Bonus Track:
6. Fields Of Gold

Customers Also Like