Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Intervention
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Matthew Sweet Girlfriend 180g 2LP

Matthew Sweet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Introducing Matthew Sweet 1991-1995!
Artist-Approved Expanded Edition LPs!

180g Ultra-Quiet Vinyl Pressed at Gotta Groove Records!
Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound!
100% Analog Mastering from Real Analog Tapes!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Intervention Records and Matthew Sweet are proud to introduce an amazing Artist-Approved reissue series, Matthew Sweet 1991-1995!

In 2018 Intervention releases Double-LP Artist-Approved Expanded Editions of Sweet’s Trilogy of 90's Power-Pop classics, Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun, plus the Son of Altered Beast 7-song EP, which appears on vinyl for the very first time!

Each Expanded Edition Double-LP set of the three classic studio albums is loaded with extra tracks not included on the original LPs- 3 extra tracks on Girlfriend, 6 on Altered Beast, and 7 on 100% Fun. So many of these songs are either appearing on vinyl for the very first time or seeing official release for the very first time. And for Sweet completists, these LPs are the most extensive collection of extra tracks compiled and packaged with the studio albums the songs were recorded for!

All four LPs are 100% analog mastered from the ORIGINAL ANALOG MASTER TAPES by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The original 15-song repertoires for Girlfriend and Altered Beast are for the first time spread across three LPs sides for maximum sound quality and the ability to PLAY LOUD!

The ultra-quiet 180-gram LPs are pressed at Gotta Groove Records in Cleveland, Ohio.

The jacket art for Matthew Sweet 1991-1995 has been faithfully restored by IR’s art director Tom Vadakan. The three Expanded Editions feature beautiful "Old Style" gatefolds printed onto heavy blanks and film laminated by the wizards at Stoughton Printing. Son of Altered Beast features a single-pocket "Old Style" gatefold by Stoughton as well.

This is the vinyl release Matthew Sweet's 1991 classic has always deserved and the best Girlfriend you'll ever have... Matthew Sweet's essential 1991 power-pop tour-de-force gets its analog due on Intervention's Expanded Edition 180-Gram Double-LP release!

Girlfriend's original 1991 LP release was a single LP that simply excised the last three songs that were included on the original 15-track CD release. Those three tracks were a tremendous loss as the song's final, elegiac track "Nothing Lasts" was considered as the title track.

Intervention's amazing Double LP Expanded Edition restores the original 15-song repertoire to three vinyl sides for maximum bass and dynamics. Side D includes three demo tracks- "Good Friend," "Superdeformed" and "Teenage Female."

Girlfriend's album art was lovingly restored by Intervention's Art Director Tom Vadakan, and printed as a gorgeous "Old Style" gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It's printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels were printed by Dorado.

"Matthew Sweet's third album is a remarkable artistic breakthrough ... thanks to his exceptional songwriting, the album is a fresh, original interpretation of a classic sound." - Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

"... the holy grail of power pop." -Tiny Mix Tapes

"As with every album the label has laid its golden touch to, every second of this album sounds as beguiling and sparkling as ever through their adherence to 100% analog process and the tender mastering work of Ryan K. Smith who did wonderful things with the reissue of John Lennon's Imagine last year. If you don't know this record, just know that Sweet abandoned a decent showing as an early adult alternative act in the late '80s to dive deep into his love of '60s and '70s pop and rock and came away with a near-perfect collection of Cheap Trick-level riffage and Boyce/Hart-style melodic smarts. It kicked the commercial door open for him and started a run of marvelous albums for this singer-songwriter that, if we're honest, hasn't really stopped. An added attraction to this vinyl reissue is the inclusion of three demos from the era, including the future No Alternative gem 'Superderformed,' all of which were released on a CD-single back in the '90s." - Robert Ham, Paste Magazine

• Artist Approved
• Expanded to 2LP
• 100% Analog Mastering From Real Analog Tapes
• Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
• Ultra-Quiet 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Gotta Groove Records in Cleveland, Ohio
• Exquisitely Restored Gatefold Jacket Art printed by Stoughton
• Center labels printed by Dorado
• All 15 original tracks on vinyl for the first time
• 3 Bonus tracks not included on original vinyl release

Side 1:

1. Divine Intervention
2. I've Been Waiting
3. Girlfriend
4. Looking At The Sun
5. Winona
Side 2:
1. Evangeline
2. Day For Night
3. Thought I Knew You
4. You Don't Love Me
5. I Wanted To Tell You
Side 3:
1. Don't Go
2. Your Sweet Voice
3. Does She Talk?
4. Holy War
5. Nothing Lasts
Side 4 (Bonus Tracks):
1. Good Friend (Demo Version)
2. Superdeformed (Demo Version)
3. Teenage Female (Demo Version)

Customers Also Like