Mattias Wager Organ Treasures Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Mattias Wager

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Organ Treasures is like a small concert also for those who prefer melodic, soft and cozy organ music, but who never earlier "dared" to buy an organ recording, while so much organ music can be both difficult and complex. We will hear four known works by Bach, but also music by less known composers, but who also composed harmonic and cozy organ music, like Pierne and Elert.

From Ives, we can enjoy his entertaining and virtuous arrangement of "God save the Queen," i.e. "Variations of America." The Recording is rounded off by Widor's very famous Toccata!

Opus 3 is happy to once again record Mattias Wager, who was part of the duo on "Live at Vatnajokull" and also participated on the SACD "Musica Sacra."

Super Audio CD - 4.1

This is the first SACD where Opus 3 uses the bass channel (LFE) and the reasons for this is a very strong case! In order to give this recording full justice, this is a true 4.1 recording, which means that we have taken the advantage of the bass channel, i.e. the channel that feeds the sub-woofer, while no normal speakers can reproduce the very deep bass that the organ in Hedvig Eleonoras church in Stockholm have - i.e. to down below 30Hz.

In order to do this in the best possible way, we asked Mr. Jorgen Thuresson to custom make a special crossover network based on the Linkwitz-Riley principal, at 24dB per octave with a crossover frequency at 60Hz. This frequency has been chosen in order to be able to use like more normal high quality front speakers, without destroying the total bass reproduction, i.e. that the matching to the sub-woofers works well.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
1. Toccata & Fugue in D. Minor
2. Jesus bleibet meine Freude
3. Sinfonia, from Cantata 29
4. Air
Cesar Franck (1822-1890)
5. Piece Heroique
Charles Ives (1874-1954)
6. Variations on "America"
Gabriel Pierne (1863-1937)
Trois pieces op 29:

7. Prelude
8. Cantilene
9. Scherzando de concert
Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1937)
10. Valse Mignonne op 142:2
Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)
11. Toccata from Symphony no 5

Customers Also Like