Maucha Adnet Songs I Learned From Jobim Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Maucha Adnet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Innovative Tribute To Jobim Featuring Mysterious & Soulful Female Vocals on SACD!

"This is a refreshingly innovative tribute to Antonio Carlos Jobim, since only three of the fifteen tracks were actually written or conceived by the legendary Brazilian genius. The rest were favorites of his that were written by others, such as his lesser-known countrymen (Johnny Alf, Bororo and Edu Lobo), more internationally recognized names (Caetano Veloso, Joao Gilberto), and Maucha Adnet and her brother, Mario. There's also a trio of jazz standards, including Cole Porter's 'I Concentrate on You,' which Jobim wished he himself had written. We know this because of Maucha Adnet, the Rio-born vocalist who toured with Jobim for ten years and learned the songs on this release from him. Jobim described Adnet's voice as 'deep, rich and mysterious'—and I would add 'supple,' 'sultry' and 'soulful' to that, not just because of the alliteration. Adnet's beautiful instrument gets the perfect setting from these musicians and arrangements: not only is the estimable Trio da Paz on this recording (Romero Lubambo, Nilson Matta, Duduka Da Fonseca), but there are wonderful performances from trombonist Jay Ashby, flugellers Claudio Roditi and Randy Brecker, and pianist Hugo Fattoruso, whose spare, lyrical style evokes The Man himself... Songs I Learned From Jobim contains a full range of moods, fine musicianship and excellent material. It's also a must-hear for Jobim completists, since it offers such unexpected and delightful insights into his musical self." - All About Jazz

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Maucha Adnet, lead vocal
Mario Adnet, acoustic guitar, vocals
Romeo Lubambo, acoustic guitar
Hugo Fattoruso, piano, accordion, keyboard
Dom Salvador, piano
Alfredo Cardim, piano
Nilson Matta, bass
Duduka Da Fonseca, drums
Waltinho Anastacio, percussion
Jay Ashby, trombone
Ze Luis Oliveira, flute
Claudio Roditi, Flugelhorn
Randy Brecker, Flugelhorn
Alana Da Fonseca, vocals
Mario, Hugo, Ze Luis, Nilson, Waltinho, Jay & Romero, vocals on #15

1. Ceu E Mar
2. Vai Ficar Bom
3. There Will Never Be Another You
4. Choro Bandido
5. So Danco Samba
6. Curare
7. Dom De Iludir
8. Bim-Bom
9. I Concentrate On You
10. Aguas De Marco
11. Sublime Tortura
12. These Foolish Things
13. Pra Que Discutir Com Madame
14. Maracangalha
15. Vignette Maracangalha

Recorded at Clinton Studio in New York on January 29, 30 & 31 and February 3 & 4, 1997

Customers Also Like