Mendelssohn Symphony Nos. 4 & 5 XRCD24

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Well-known Classical Composer Felix Mendelssohn wrote both of these pieces: Symphony No. 4 in A (known popularly as “Italian”) and Symphony No. 5 in D Major (known popularly as “Reformation”). “Italian” is considered to be Mendelssohn’s most popular symphony while “Reformation” was considered by the composer as a “complete misfit”. Together, both pieces are conducted by the impressive Charles Munch and performed by the Boston Symphony Orchestra, who gives both life and reason to these important works. XRCD24 brings them all together with the sound quality that cannot be matched by any other Audiophile format. Listen and Compare.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Charles Munch, conductor

1. Allegro vivace
2. Andante con moto
3. Con moto moderato
4. Sartarello: Presto
5. Andante; Allegro confuoco
6. Allegro vivace
7. Andante (attacca:)
8. Andante con moto (Chorale: "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott"); Allegro vivace

Total playing time, 53.52 minutes
Recorded October 28, 1957 (Op.107)
& February 18, 1958 (Op. 90, Symphony Hall, Boston

Customers Also Like