Genre: R&B
Label: Interscope
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Michael Kiwanuka KIWANUKA 2LP

Michael Kiwanuka

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Stunning Third Album On Double LP!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Stereophile: Performance 5/5 Stars / Sonics 4/5 Stars

2021 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Rock Album: KIWANUKA

KIWANUKA is the follow-up to Michael's 2016 album Love & Hate, which featured the songs "Love & Hate", "One More Night", "Black Man In A White World" and "Cold Little Heart", the latter used as the opening theme for the HBO miniseries Big Little Lies. Recorded in New York, LA and London, Michael returned to the studio with Danger Mouse and Inflo, the same production team that combined so magnificently on Love & Hate. KIWANUKA finds a new assuredness in Michael's writing, and takes the basic sonic blueprint of that last record to a dizzying new realm.

KIWANUKA sets off on a journey that evokes the psychedelic haze of its predecessor, but ramps up a very broad sense of scale. With his exquisite band of players, Michael channels an assortment of the late greats (a nod to Gil Scott-Heron here, Bobby Womack flecked there, and the ever present Otis Redding vocally) for a richly rewarding record that sits typically at odds with the notion and expectations of a successful British singer-songwriter in 2019, and moves even further away from the folk-imbued vintage soul of his debut album, Home Again , back in 2012. Michael will tell you of his love for records that entwine their songs with incidental skits and shape-shifting spiraling outros, so that the listener experience is almost that of listening to one long, dramatic song. KIWANUKA fulfills that winding, dream-like haze, unhurried, and is peppered with some of the best songs of Michael's career to date. At its very heart is a song called "Hero"; a scorched epic that propagates the essence of the whole record into a sub five-minute psych-fuzz song. KIWANUKA is Michael serving from the heart, from the mind, and from the soul.

"This is a glorious album, full of confidence, range, vim, and stunning tunes. Kiuwanuka has been compared to Bill Withers and Terry Callier - you can hear evidence of both influences in the uplifting "Light" - but then, so have many singer-songwriters with sweet, soulful voices. With brilliant production from Danger Mouse and Inflo, this record encompasses many styles. Kiwanuka has absorbed music from his surroundings and background (his parents fled Idi Amin's Ugandan regime and settled in Muswell Hill; Ray and Dave Davies are no longer the sole music greats from that small corner of North London), then added his own personal twist, creating songs that soar and swoop."

"The album opens with "You Ain't the Problem", with Soca-like guitar and background party noise, morphing into a psyche-soul landscape that paves the way to his exquisite vocals. "Rolling" follows: Northern Soul with New Order-style bass lines. And on it goes: Kiwanuka has a lovely, expansive, positive vibe. Buy it on vinyl - it sounds so much better that way - and bang up the volume" - Phil Brett, Stereophile, March 2020 Issue

With his acoustic sound and timelessly soulful voice, British singer/songwriter Michael Kiwanuka emerged to acclaim in 2011 combining folk, indie rock, and R&B with traditions borrowed from his Ugandan heritage. Drawing favorable comparisons to Curtis Mayfield, Terry Callier, and Van Morrison, Kiwanuka earned a Mercury Prize nomination for his debut album, 2012's Home Again, and won the BBC's Sound of 2012. He further cemented his reputation as a gifted and rootsy performer with his sophomore album, 2016's Love & Hate, which went gold, landing at number one in the U.K.
- AllMusic


  • Double LP
  • Album artwork by Markeidric
  • Gatefold jacket


Side A:

  1. You Ain't The Problem
  2. Rolling
  3. I've Been Dazed

Side B:

  1. Piano Joint (This Kind Of Love) Intro
  2. Piano Joint (This Kind Of Love)
  3. Another Human Being (Interlude)
  4. Living In Denial

Side C:

  1. Hero
  2. Hard to Say Goodbye

Side D:

  1. Final Days
  2. Interlude (Loving The People)
  3. Solid Ground
  4. Light

Customers Also Like