Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Mute
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Mick Harvey Sketches from the Book of the Dead LP (Gold Vinyl)

Mick Harvey

$11.99 $35.99
(You save $24.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Fifth Studio Album on Limited Edition Gold Vinyl LP!
From Mick Harvey of The Birthday Party & The Bad Seeds!

Mute is excited to announce the reissue of Mick Harvey's fifth studio album, Sketches from the Book of the Dead, on limited edition gold vinyl. Packaged in a gatefold sleeve and limited to 1,000 copies worldwide. Originally released on May 2nd, 2011, Sketches from the Book of the Dead is Mick Harvey's first fully self-penned album; the 11-track album was recorded and mixed with David McCluney at Atlantis Sound, Port Melbourne with additional recording at Harvey's own Grace Lane music room. The record sees Mick Harvey (playing most of the instruments) joined by Rosie Westbrook on double bass and J.P. Shilo on accordion and violin, with Xanthe Waite contributing occasional ethereal backing vocals. Containing an extraordinary investigation into a rarely scrutinized area of the human condition, Sketches from the Book of the Dead is a truly unique piece of work.

Harvey's music has never been more self-assured than it is here, and this album marks the dawn of a new era for him as an artist.
-Thom Jurek,, 4/5 stars
It's a tantalizing glimpse of how great solo Harvey can be...
Harvey's direct production style – sparse, dusty and frequently drum-free – draws attention to the lyrics, a collection of outback eulogies and austere Australiana, which are frequently astonishing...
-The Line of Best Fit


  • Limited Edition - 1,000 Copies Worldwide
  • Gold Vinyl
  • Gatefold Sleeve
  • Made in the EU


Side A:

  1. October Boy
  2. The Ballad of Jay Givens
  3. Two Paintings
  4. Rhymeless
  5. Frankie T. & Frankie C.

Side B:

  1. A Place Called Passion
  2. To Each His Own
  3. The Bells Never Rang
  4. That's All, Paul
  5. How Would I Leave You?
  6. Famous Last Words

Customers Also Like