Genre: Blues
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


Mighty Sam McClain Give It Up To Love 200g 45rpm 2LP

Mighty Sam McClain

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

2021 Stereophile Magazine Record to Die For!

200g 45rpm Double LP!
Remastered by Kevin Gray From The Original Analog Tapes!
Plated & Pressed at QRP!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Mighty Sam is a rhythm and blues legend who shook up the blues world with this 1993 release. The great torch bearer of deep soul is caught in top form on this classic album. And now, this gatefold 2LP 45 RPM edition presented by Analogue Productions makes the album even greater!

The four sides of wider-spaced grooves make for reduced distortion and better high frequency reproduction. It's a 200-gram masterpiece from Quality Record Pressings, a state-of-the-art LP pressing plant. And the gatefold jacket is hard-core, old-school style - thick cardboard, tip-on, with additional photos and liner notes inside. Sweet.

Give It Up To Love is the R&B comeback of the year.
-Rolling Stone
Mighty Sam McClain's Give It Up To Love is one of the great soul records.
McClain sings soul with incredible power - he knows when to pull the punches and when to cool it down. 'Give It Up to Love,' the title track, acknowledges his gospel roots; he performs it as a vocal prayer to God asking for wisdom, love, and strength. Bruce Katz's contributions on B-3 Hammond organ expands McClain's sound, particularly on the 'Green Onions'-influenced 'What You Want Me to Do.' The sparsely effective arrangement on 'Here I Go Falling in Love Again' brings McClain up front as he cries of being a soul stripped to the bare bones. Kevin Barry's funky bass blows while McClain declares himself as a child of God in 'Child of the Mighty Mighty.'
Give It Up To Love has been one of my all-time faves since its release in 1993. Producer Joe Harley correctly identified red-clay R&B vocalist Sam McClain as someone whose musical career was due for a new act. The album continues to be an audiophile go-to; this latest issue by Analogue Productions generously spaces out 11 tracks over two 45rpm LPs. The sound was already standard-setting, whatever the format, thanks to engineer Michael C. Ross's superb 'get.' I can pretty much tell within moments how my system is sounding by hearing a few beats of Mighty Sam's vocals and listening to guitarist Kevin Barry sliding over the frets at the top of 'What You Want Me to Do.'
-Anne E. Johnson, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2021


  • 200g Vinyl
  • 45rpm
  • Double LP
  • Produced by Joe Harley
  • Pure analog recording
  • Recorded live direct to two track except for minimal overdubbing via 16 track on "Give It Up To Love" & "Don't Turn Back Now"
  • Dead-quiet vinyl
  • Wider grooves allow more accurate cartridge tracking
  • Reduced distortion and better high frequency reproduction
  • Remastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog tapes
  • Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Old-school style tip-on thick cardboard gatefold jacket
  • Photos and liner notes


Side One:

  1. Give It Up To Love
  2. Too Proud
  3. What You Want Me To Do

Side Two:

  1. Here I Go Falling In Love Again
  2. Got To Have Your Love

Side Three:

  1. Child Of The Mighty Mighty
  2. I'm Tired Of These Blues

Side Four:

  1. I Feel Good
  2. Don't Turn Back Now
  3. Lonesome Road

Customers Also Like