Miles Davis The Bootleg Series, Vol 7: That's What Happened 1982-1985 2LP (White Vinyl)

Miles Davis

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Highlights of Bootleg Volume 7 on White Vinyl Double LP!
Unreleased Gems from the Star People, Decoy, You're Under Arrest Studio Sessions!
Part of the Award-Winning Archival Bootleg Series!

That's What Happened 1982-1985: Bootleg Volume 7 is the next installment in the celebrated, award-winning archival series that began in 2011, shining an in-depth light onto different eras of the legendary career of Miles Davis.

In the 1980s, popular music had moved to a smoother, electronic-based sound that traded the steam of previous years for subdued arrangements meant to elicit peace and deep reflection. Miles Davis embraced this era, pulling inspiration from FM radio and an upstart music video channel called MTV. He was searching for the next frontier, letting his creativity roam. This music on The Bootleg Series Vol. 7 captures that exploration, and finds Miles beginning to re-emerge in a creative landscape far different than the one he left in 1975. He's touched every inch of pop culture while keeping true to his iconoclastic vision of jazz as amorphous art that's supposed to bend and flow and mutate to something else. On The Bootleg Series Vol. 7, we get to play in the rubble of what would become yet another period of unprecedented innovation. Beauty resides in evolution.

This double LP collects highlights of Bootleg Volume 7 with over 80 minutes of unreleased studio material from 1982 to 1985 on white vinyl. Side men include a multi-generational who's who of jazz talent from JJ Johnson, Al Foster and John Scofield to Mike Stern, Marcus Miller and Darryl Jones.


  • Double LP
  • White Vinyl
  • Highlights of Volume 7 from Acclaimed Bootleg Series Box Set
  • Over 80 Minutes of Unreleased Studio Material from 1982 to 1985


Side A:

  1. Santana
  2. Minor Ninths, Part 2
  3. Celestial Blues, Part 2

Side B:

  1. Remake of OBX Ballad
  2. Time After Time (alternate)
  3. What's Love Got to Do with It
  4. Human Nature (alternate)

Side C:

  1. Freaky Deaky (vinyl edit)
  2. Never Loved Like This (studio session demo)
  3. Hopscotch (fast)

Side D:

  1. Theme from Jack Johnson (Right Off) / Intro
  2. Katia (full session)

Customers Also Like