Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Miles Davis The Essential Miles Davis 2LP

Miles Davis

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Essential Compilation Album On Double LP!

Here is unquestionably the finest, and easily the most panoramic, Miles Davis mini-retrospective ever assembled. For the first time, a 2-disc set surveys the entirety of the continously innovative trumpeter-bandleader's monumental recording career, drawing from the catalogues of four of the labels for which he did his most significant work. Thus, the package begins in 1945, when a 20-year-old Davis, who had arrived in New York two years earlier to study at the prestigious Julliard School of Music, was on the bandstand with modern jazz fountainhead Charlie Parker, and concludes in 1984, his Harmon-muted horn still the very essence of lonely lyricism. The singular sound of Miles Davis...absolutely immortal.

Compilation album includes Nefertiti, 'Round Midnight, Black Satin and more from the catalog of the iconic jazz musician Miles Davis.

"At first glance, it would seem like an impossible task to summarize Miles Davis' career into a succinct double-disc set. Still, a career as multifaceted and ever-changing as Miles' winds up having a clear narrative, one that can be told by just the highlights, which is exactly what Columbia/Legacy's excellent double-disc Essential Miles Davis does. There are certainly major pieces and recordings missing, which is a deliberate move, since the compilers have chosen no more than one track per record (with the exception of two cuts from 'Round About Midnight), so there are huge portions of Kind of Blue, Sketches of Spain, E.S.P., and Bitches Brew absent, and such classic albums as Milestones, Miles Smiles, In a Silent Way, and A Tribute to Jack Johnson are entirely MIA. The funny thing is, in this context, they're not missed, because what's here -- which is how this compilation should be judged -- tells the story directly yet elegantly, touching on stages of his career..." -

• Double LP
• Mastered by Mark Wilder & Seth Foster at Sony Music Studios

Side A:

1. Now's the Time
2. Jeru
3. 'Round Midnight
4. Bye Bye Blackbird
Side B:
1. Generique
2. Summertime
3. So What
4. The Pan Piper

Side C:
1. Someday My Prince Will Come
2. E.S.P.
3. Nefertiti
Side D:
1. Miles Runs the Voodoo Down
2. Black Satin
3. Time After Time

Customers Also Like