Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Miroslav Vitous And Emil Viklicky Moravian Romance Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Miroslav Vitous & Emil Viklicky

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Live At JazzFest Brno 2018 on SACD!

Miroslav Vitous is a Czech jazz bassist who has had an extensive career in the US. In 1967, in Chicago, Miles Davis saw Vitous playing with Clark Terry and invited him to join his group for a residency at New York's The Village Gate. He has worked with Larry Coryell, Jan Hammer, Freddie Hubbard, Miles Davis, Chick Corea, Wayne Shorter, Joe Zawinul, Jan Garbarek and Michel Petrucciani. In 1970 he was a founding member of the celebrated jazz fusion group Weather Report.

Emil Viklicky is a Czech jazz pianist and composer. Since 1994 he has worked with the Ad lib Moravia ensemble, whose performances combine elements of Moravian folk music, modern jazz and contemporary serious music. Emil has become noted for his unique synthesis of the melodicism and tonalities of Moravian folk song with modern jazz. As English critic Euan Dixon wrote in 2005, "Emil Viklicky is one of those European jazz pianists who successfully incorporated elements of his indigenous folk culture into jazz". As a composer Viklicky has attracted attention abroad primarily for having created a synthesis of the expressive elements of modern jazz with the melodicism and tonalities of Moravian folk song, which is distinctly individual in contemporary jazz. Besides this, however, he also composes "straight-ahead" modern jazz as well as chamber and orchestral works that utilize certain elements of the New Music, and at times his music requires a combination of classical and jazz performers.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Miroslav Vitous, bass
Emil Viklicky, piano

1. Sweet Basil
2. Highlands, Lowlands
3. Clarinet Theme From 5th Part Of Sinfoniette
4. Hawk - piano solo
5. I Fall In Love Too Easily - bass solo
6. (Applause)
7. Love, Oh Love (Moravian folk song)
8. Desire
9. Gone With Water (Moravian folk song)
10. (Applause)
11. Footprints
12. (Applause)

Live Recording at Goose On A String Theater, Brno, Czech Republic, On March 23, 2018

Customers Also Like