Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Modest Mouse Good News For People Who Love Bad News 180g 2LP

Modest Mouse

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Double Vinyl!
Includes "Float On", "Ocean Breathes Salty" & "Bury Me With It"! Psychedelic Rock, Art Punk, Pastoral Americana!
Grammy-Nominated for Best Alternative Rock Album in 2004!

Modest Mouse is an American indie rock band formed in 1993 in Issaquah, Washington. Their name is derived from a passage from the Virginia Woolf story "The Mark on the Wall" which reads, "I wish I could hit upon a pleasant track of thought, a track indirectly reflecting credit upon myself, for those are the pleasantest thoughts, and very frequent even in the minds of modest, mouse-coloured people, who believe genuinely that they dislike to hear their own praises."

On April 6, 2004, Modest Mouse released their fourth album, the platinum-selling Good News for People Who Love Bad News, which had two hits with "Float On" and "Ocean Breathes Salty" (both of which they performed on Saturday Night Live on November 13, 2004). The album was nominated for a Grammy for Best Alternative Rock Album that year.

"By drawing an even sharper contrast between the harsh and beautiful things about their music, as well as life, Modest Mouse have made an album that's moving and relevant without being pretentious about it." - Heather Phares,

"Although the group still builds its sound around jammy live grooves, two new members and various guests flesh out Brock and bassist Eric Judy's singular brand of psychedelic rock, art punk and pastoral Americana. Brock now writes and sings more melodically — a little less Pixies, a bit more Talking Heads... As other bands grow old rather than grow up, Modest Mouse have finally found the big cheese." - Barry Walters, Rolling Stones

"Good News is a much more lyrically casual and upfront album than any past Modest Mouse record, substituting more conversational and direct observations for Brock's usual wide-eyed, poetic revelations... more musically unassuming, relying upon simple but well-structured banjo figures and rhythmic vocal patterns... Modest Mouse are still finding ways to invigorate their sound while retaining a sense of definiteness and sincerity... In spite of a substantial line-up change and the daunting spectre of their previous full-length, Modest Mouse have issued yet another record that uniquely explores what the band does best; being Modest Mouse." - Matt LeMay, Pitchfork

• 180 Gram Double Vinyl
• Platinum Album
• Grammy-Nominated for Best Alternative Rock Album in 2004

Isaac Brock, vocals, guitar, banjo, baritone guitar, ukulele, piano, Rhodes, whistle
Eric Judy, bass, acoustic guitar, backup vocals, pump organ, mellotron, tin whistle, percussion
Dann Gallucci, guitar, keyboards, piano, backup vocals, mellotron, drum loops, pump organ, timpani, percussion, glockenspiel
Benjamin Weikel, drums
Tom Peloso, standup bass, fiddle
Rising Star Fife & Drum Band, drums
Flaming Lips, guest artist, banjo
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band, guest artist, horns

LP1 - Side One:

1. Horn Intro
2. The World At Large
3. Float On
4. Ocean Breathes Salty
LP1 - Side Two:
1. Dig Your Grave
2. Bury Me With It
3. Dance Hall
4. Bukowski
5. This Devil's Workday
LP2 - Side Three:
1. The View
2. Satin In A Coffin
3. Interlude (Milo)
4. Blame It On The Tetons
LP2 - Side Four:
1. Black Cadillacs
2. One Chance
3. The Good Times Are Killing Me
4. I've Got It All (Most)

Customers Also Like