Genre: Jazz


Nat King Cole After Midnight Hybrid Mono SACD

Nat King Cole

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Featured as one of the 'Records to Die For' in the February 2011 issue of Stereophile!

Mastered from the Original Analog Masters by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray with DSD Specialist Gus Skinas!

Click Here to read Michael Fremer's essay on the Nat King Cole Mastering efforts!

In this felicitous blending of Nat "King" Cole's supreme talents as jazz pianist and vocalist with small combos featuring fellow jazz alumni, classic pop and jazz met in a wildly successful brew. A combination of new and familiar songs are featured, including fresh recordings of classic hits like "Route 66." Musicians include Harry "Sweets" Edison, Juan Tizol, Lee Young, Stuff Smith and Willie Smith augmenting his famous Trio. In addition to the full original album, five additional tracks and one alternate take from the original sessions are included in this release. Mellow, classy, focused and vibrant, After Midnight was a hit and an instant classic upon its release in 1956 and remains a gem to treasure today.

Mastered from the original first-generation full-track monaural session tapes by Steve Hoffman, Kevin Gray and Gus Skinas to high resolution DSD and standard CD, the exemplary recording is presented in appropriately exquisite sound quality.

Recorded in 1956.

"As a long-time Nat King Cole fan, I was knocked out by the amazing quality of the DSD masters." - David W. Robinson,

"The set was mastered from the original full track, superb sounding mono tape. If you need convincing about the greatness of mono recordings, try this explosive set! The power and presence of the instruments and Cole's voice will throw you back in your chair as will the three-dimensionality of the single track presentation... Highly Recommended!" - Michael Fremer, Music 9/10, Sound 10/10

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Mono SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Mastered by Kevin Gray, Steve Hoffman and Gus Skinas

1. Just You, Just Me
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. Sometimes I'm Happy
4. Caravan
5. It's Only a Paper Moon
6. You're Looking at Me
7. Lonely One
8. Don't Let it Go to Your Head
9. I Know That You Know
10. Blame it on my Youth
11. When I Grow too Old to Dream
12. Route 66
13. Candy
14. What Is There To Say?
15. I Was a Little too Lonely (and You Were a Little too Late)
16. Your Can Depend on Me
17. Two Loves Have I
18. Just You, Just Me (take one)
19. It's Only A Paper
20. Moon (take three)

Recorded August and September, 1956, in Hollywood.

Customers Also Like