Nat King Cole After Midnight 180g 45rpm 3LP (Mono)

Nat King Cole

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

45rpm 180g Vinyl 3LP!
Mastered from the Original Full-Track Monaural Session Tapes by Steve Hoffman & Kevin Gray!
Pressed at QRP!

Audio Beat Rated 4/5 Music, 5/5 Sound!

In this felicitous blending of Nat "King" Cole's supreme talents as jazz pianist and vocalist with small combos featuring fellow jazz alumni, classic pop and jazz met in a wildly successful brew. A combination of new and familiar songs are featured, including fresh recordings of classic hits like "Route 66". Musicians include Harry "Sweets" Edison, Juan Tizol, Lee Young, Stuff Smith and Willie Smith augmenting his famous Trio. In addition to the full original album, five additional tracks and one alternate take from the original sessions are included in this release. Mellow, classy, focused and vibrant, After Midnight was a hit and an instant classic upon its release in 1956 and remains a gem to treasure today.

Mastered fully analogue from the original first-generation full-track monaural session tapes by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray to 45-RPM 180-gram vinyl, the exemplary recording is presented in appropriately exquisite sound quality.

Included with this deluxe reissue is a striking six-panel booklet complete with rare photos, a 4,600-word essay by Chris Hall on the album and a 1,200-word essay by Michael Fremer about the remastering process. This truly is a no-expenses-spared project, resulting in the ultimate version of this title.

All of Analogue Productions' Nat "King" Cole releases go the extra mile. They come with well-done booklets that discuss in detail each album's history and the remastering wizardry responsible for their sonics.
-Marc Mickelson,, 4/5 Music, 5/5 Sound
The set was mastered from the original full track, superb sounding mono tape. If you need convincing about the greatness of mono recordings, try this explosive set! The power and presence of the instruments and Cole's voice will throw you back in your chair as will the three-dimensionality of the single track presentation... Highly Recommended!
-Michael Fremer, Music 9/11, Sound 10/11


  • 3LP
  • 180g Vinyl
  • 45rpm
  • Mono
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray & Steve Hoffman
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • 6-Panel Booklet with Rare Photos & Essays by Chris Hall & Michael Fremer


Nat King Cole piano, vocals
John Collins guitar
Charlie Harris bass
Lee Young drums
Willie Smith alto saxophone
Harry Edison trumpet
Stuff Smith violin
Juan Tizol trombone


Side One:

  1. Just You, Just Me
  2. Sweet Lorraine
  3. Sometimes I'm Happy

Side Two:

  1. Caravan
  2. It's Only a Paper Moon
  3. You're Looking at Me

Side Three:

  1. Lonely One
  2. Don't Let it Go to Your Head
  3. I Know That You Know

Side Four:

  1. Blame it on my Youth
  2. When I Grow Too Old to Dream
  3. Route 66

Side Five (Bonus Tracks):

  1. Candy
  2. What Is There to Say?
  3. I Was a Little Too Lonely (and You Were a Little Too Late)

Side Six (Bonus Tracks):

  1. You Can Depend on Me
  2. Two Loves Have I
  3. Just You, Just Me (Take One)
  4. It's Only A Paper Moon (Take Three)

Customers Also Like