Genre: Jazz


Nat King Cole Just One Of Those Things Hybrid Multi-Channel, Stereo & Mono SACD

Nat King Cole

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Mastered from the Original 3-Track Analog Masters by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray with DSD Specialist Gus Skinas!

Click Here to read Michael Fremer's essay on the Nat King Cole Mastering efforts!

Included with this deluxe reissue is a 2,200-word essay by Jordan Taylor about the album.

This hybrid SACD is playable as follows: A three-channel SACD section includes all songs listed in the tracks section except for the alternate take of "Just For The Fun Of It," which was recorded in Mono. There is a Stereo SACD section with all songs in stereo except for the alternate take of "Just For The Fun Of It," which was recorded in Mono. There is a Mono SACD section with all songs included. The Stereo CD section includes the same content as the SACD Stereo section and the Mono CD section includes all songs.

This has been a totally no-expenses-spared project. Using the original three-track work tapes from Capitol's vaults, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman along with DSD specialist Gus Skinas bring you an entirely incomparable SACD experience. In addition to the stereo mixes, this SACD includes a three-track transfer for multichannel playback and the original mono mix taken from separate microphone feeds, mixing consoles and tape machines at the original sessions. In order to master from the three-track masters, AcousTech had to be outfitted for three-channel playback. That meant Kevin Gray had to find a third identical monitoring channel chain (including mixing board, amplifier and speaker) as well as a three-track playback headstack and also a three-track preview head for the vinyl cutting system. It was a massive assignment. We've spent a fortune to include these extra bells and whistles and to make this a truly historic reissue.

Contrasting downbeat ballads with an ironic brassy, upbeat big band attitude, the ironic Cole Porter standard Just One Of Those Things sets the tone for a distinctive, pungent experience of love and disillusionment with a swing. Brilliantly backing the intimately expressive and supremely musical voice of the incomparable Nat "King" Cole, a big band with no "strings" smolders, swings, saunters, storms, sighs and sizzles with the arrangements of the distinctive Billy May. Featuring top shelf interpretations of "These Foolish Things," "Who's Sorry Now?" "The Party's Over" and more, this album is among its era's finest recordings of popular music and its quality, style and spirit remains unexcelled.

Just One Of Those Things was recorded in finely polished monaural and more minimalistic 3-channel stereophonic versions, each with dedicated microphones, console, mix and recorders. Each offers a different sonic perspective. The monaural recording was heard on the original hit records while the stereophonic recording offers the potential for a stunning wide-range realism. Using the original first generation full-track mono and 3-track session tapes from Capitol's vaults and custom headstacks, console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman along with DSD specialist Gus Skinas bring you an entirely incomparable SACD experience.

For this deluxe hybrid SACD, both mono and stereo versions are available in standard resolution on the CD layer and in high resolution on the DSD stereo layer, while the stereo versions are also available in high resolution 3-channel sound on the DSD multi-channel layer. Also included in 3-channel, stereo and mono is a superb track recorded for the album, "You'll Never Know," which was omitted due to space constraints - this release is the very first ever of the original mono version! In addition a 2,200-word essay by Jordan Taylor about the album is included. No expense was spared to make this the ultimate digital version of this album and a historic reissue.

Originally released in 1957.

"Listening to Nat King Cole in 3-channel DSD from hard disk… and yes, those are the same three speakers that were used for the mastering. The sound of the DSD playback via EMM Labs multi-channel was simply unbelievable... As a long-time Nat King Cole fan, I was knocked out by the amazing quality of the DSD masters." - David W. Robinson,

"Recorded in 1957, Just One Of Those Things is a superb homage to swing/big band music. Arranger Billy May’s precise charts are a perfect complement to Cole’s singing." - Audiophile Audition,, September 2011

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• SACD Mono SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Mastered by Kevin Gray, Steve Hoffman and Gus Skinas

1. When your Lover Has Gone
2. A Cottage For Sale
3. Who's Sorry Now?
4. Once in a While
5. These Foolish Things Remind Me of You
6. Just for the Fun of It
7. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
8. I Understand
9. Just One of Those Things
10. The Song is Ended (But the Melody Lingers On)
11. I Should Care
12. The Party's Over
Bonus Tracks:
13. You'll Never Know
14. Just For the Fun of It (Alternate Take - Take Three) (Mono)

Customers Also Like