Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


New York Trio Stairway to the Stars Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The New York Trio

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Acclaimed Jazz Trio Performs Classic Standards!

Consisting of Bill Charlap, Jay Leonhart and Bill Stewart, the New York Trio is a studio-only group that specializes in classic standards performed in a straightforward post-bop style. On this release, the trio focuses on selections from the Great American Songbook.

Bill Charlap is a member of the Phil Woods Quintet and has performed with Tony Bennett, Benny Carter, Gerry Mulligan and others. He's also recorded a handful of acclaimed albums for Blue Note as a bandleader.

Bassist Jay Leonhart has been a headliner since 1983, while also perofrming as a vocalist and songwriter. Leonhart has played with Marian McPartland, Louie Bellson, Lee Konitz and others.

Drummer Bill Stewart has played gigs with many musicians including John Scofield, Maceo Parker and James Brown.

"The New York Trio has produced a series of enjoyable session for Venus since the beginning of the 21st century...This well-played collection of timeless ballads is perfect for unwinding at the end of the day." -Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Bill Charlap, piano
Jay Leonhart, bass
Bill Stewart, drums

1. Lover Come Back To Me
2. Stairway To The Stars
3. Lullaby Of The Leaves
4. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
5. I'll Be Seeing You
6. Can't Help Loving Dat Man
7. Body And Soul
8. The Man I Love
9. A Sleeping Bee
10. Stella By Starlight

Customers Also Like