Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Nick Drake Family Tree 180g 2LP Universal

Nick Drake

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Double LP Reissue!

Family Tree features previously unreleased tracks from the vaults of the Estate of Nick Drake. The album, produced by Drake Estate manager Cally, tells the story of Nick Drake's musical development in the years prior to recording his official debut, Five Leaves Left. Family Tree explores the upbringing of an artist who--in his tragically short career--produced three albums which continue to be treasured by fans. Recorded in the 1960s at Nick's home and in Aix-En-Provence, France, the 28 tracks feature lo-fi recordings made on a reel-to-reel tape recorder.

This compilation includes Nick Drake originals as well as obscure covers of songs by Jackson C. Frank, Dylan and Blind Boy Fuller. These period amateur home recordings capture a burgeoning songwriting genius learning his trade. The songs range from folk and blues standards to early influential compositions by his mother Molly and recordings of Nick made by his colleague and arranger Robert Kirby at Cambridge University in 1968. They are presented here in their raw, lo-fidelity original condition, remastered by Nick's sound engineer John Wood, and are accompanied by an eight-page explanatory booklet.

"...a very pleasant and listenable portrait of Drake's folk roots...much of what makes Drake special does come through...His folk guitar work is already nimble, but more striking are his vocals, which already boast his characteristic mixture of assured slight smokiness and English reserve. And the few Drake compositions put his reclusive yet poetic world view in greater, more original focus..." -Richie Unterberger,

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

Nick Drake, vocals, guitar
Molly Drake (4)
Gabrielle Drake (6)
Family Trio: (7)
Nancy McDowall, viola (7)
Chris McDowall, piano (7)
Nick Drake, clarinet (7)

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. Come to the Garden (Introduction)
2. They're Leaving Me Behind
3. Time Piece
4. Poor Mum (performed by Molly Drake)
5. Winter Is Gone
6. All My Trials (featuring Gabrielle Drake)
7. Mozart: Kegelstatt Trio for clarinet, viola and piano
8. Betty & Dupree
9. Strolling Down the Highway
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Paddling In Rushmere
2. Cocaine Blues
3. Blossom
4. Been Smoking Too Long
5. Black Mountain Blues
6. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
7. If You Leave Me

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Here Come the Blues
2. Sketch I
3. Blues Run the Game
4. My Baby So Sweet
5. Milk and Honey
6. Kimbie
7. Bird Flew By
LP 2 - Side 4:
1. Rain
2. Strange Meeting II
3. Day Is Done
4. Come to the Garden
5. Way To Blue
6. Do You Ever Remember? (performed by Molly Drake)

Customers Also Like