Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Nicki Parrott Black Coffee Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Nicki Parrott

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Tribute to Peggy Lee and Julie London from Acclaimed Vocalist & Bassist!

Nicki Parrott's eagerly awaited third album is a sultry and attractive tribute to Peggy Lee and Julie London. She is again surrounded by a hugely talented cast that includes pianist John Di Martino, tenor saxophonist Harry Allen and guitarist Paul Myers as well as her sister Lisa Parrott who plays baritone and soprano sax and bass clarinet. In 2010, the album received Swing Journal's Gold Disc award.

Highlights include the title track which displays Nicki's tremendous vocal talent, whimsical "Dark Eyes" where Nicki sings in unison with her own arco bass, and "Fever" where she substitutes the famous vocal-drum duet section by Peggy Lee with a duet with her own bass!

In June 2000, Nicki began performing on Monday nights at the Iridium Jazz Club with the legendary guitarist and inventor, Les Paul. As part of the Les Paul Trio, Nicki worked side-by-side with guitar greats from Paul McCartney, Slash, Steve Miller to fellow Aussie, Tommy Emmanuel.

Since then she has performed with such notable musicians as Michel Legrand, Joe Wilder, Randy Brecker, Clark Terry, Jose Feliciano, Bucky Pizzarelli, John Pizzarelli, Dick Hyman, Patti Labelle & the New York Pops Orchestra, Harry Allen, Warren Vache, Marlena Shaw, David Krakauer, Ken Peplowski, Ann Hampton Callaway, Bill Mays, Scott Hamilton, Lillian Boutte, Larry Carlton and Houston Person, to name a few.

"She has that special gift you cannot buy in a music store." -Les Paul

"A double threat: she plays the bass fabulously, and has a singing voice that shares the relaxed sexiness of Julie London and the coquettishness of Blossom Dearie." -Swing Journal

"Worth hunting the web for!" -Russell Davies, BBC

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Nicki Parrott, vocals, bass
Harry Allen, tenor sax
Lisa Parrott, baritone sax, soprano sax, bass clarinet
John Di Martino, piano
Paul Myers, guitar
Dion Parson, drums

1. Dark Eyes
2. Black Coffee
3. Why Don't You Do Right
4. Alright, Okay, You Win
5. Don't Smoke In Bed
6. Fever
7. Go Slow
8. Hallelujah, I Love Him
9. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
10. Just One More Chance
11. No Moon At All
12. Our Day Will Come
13. So In Love
14. Where Or When
15. When I Fall In Love

Customers Also Like