Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Nicki Parrott Sakura Sakura Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Nicki Parrott

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Songs Dedicated to the Season of Spring!

Jazz bassist & vocalist Nicki Parrott releases an album devoted to the theme of Spring, a season filled with hope and celebration of new life. She performs standards such as "April In Paris," "April Showers," "I Love Paris," and more, as well as "Sakura Sakura" which is a Japanese traditional song about cherry blossoms, which she sings in Japanese.

A stellar team of New York-based musicians supports the leader. Nicki's sister Lisa Parrott is prominently featured on soprano and baritone saxophone, and the participation of the great young trumpeter Dominick Farinacci is a welcome surprise. Another twist is bassist Martin Wind, who plays cello instead of his usual instrument in this album.

"She has that special gift you cannot buy in a music store." -Les Paul

"A double threat: she plays the bass fabulously, and has a singing voice that shares the relaxed sexiness of Julie London and the coquettishness of Blossom Dearie." -Swing Journal

"Worth hunting the web for!"
-Russell Davies, BBC

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Nicki Parrott, vocals, bass
John Di Martino, piano
Lisa Parrott, soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone
Paul Meyers, guitar
Tim Horner, drums
Dominick Farinacci, trumpet
Martin Wind, cello

1. April In Paris
2. April Showers
3. Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White
4. It Might As Well Be Spring
5. Sakura Sakura
6. Some Other Spring
7. I Love Paris
8. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
9. Spring Is Here
10. Suddenly It's Spring
11. There'll Be Another Spring
12. They Say It's Spring
13. You Must Believe In Spring
14. I'll Remember April

Customers Also Like