Genre: Spoken Word
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: The New York Community Choir
Format: 33RPM,


Nikki Giovanni Truth Is On Its Way LP (Opaque Yellow Vinyl)

Nikki Giovanni

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming October 15, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

First Time On Vinyl Since 1971!
Cut & Pressed At Third Man!

First reissue of this powerful blend of funk, soul, & poetry. Pressed on color vinyl and packaged in striking new artwork with liner notes by Camae Ayewa (Moor Mother).

"Listen, the great Nikki Giovanni was protected. Inside the church, you can hear it. In the dusty silence, you can hear it. In the electric texture of the crowd, the buzz of the instruments, you can hear it. What you hear and feel is safe in the belly of the blues. Her voice loved like hands on the ivory keys of the church organ deep inside the spell of gospel. Nikki Giovanni is a poet at the pulpit, righteous with spirit and energy. A poet in the choir hypnotized with the sound of the past, present and future. Nikki Giovanni inspires a new language rising out of the desolate and uncertain seventies.

The energy of this record serves as a requiem for all past woes and trespasses. The congregation's full hearts were swinging and you can feel the excitement to collaborate with Nikki Giovanni. Everyone can rejoice and shout that the poet has spoken of a new wave coming, a tsunami under new management, a new moon bringing forth a new sun and God has nothing to do with it. Nikki Giovanni is a poet not shutting anyone out but shutting everything down and that's something I can get behind. That is something I can pray for, a black woman allowed to speak her truth in the bubbling sinister seventies to the coming devastation that is the war on drugs, which was a war on our sanity. It was a war on our neighborhoods and on our notions of peace and family.

Nikki Giovanni said, 'We have a world to conquer one person at a time starting with ourselves.' You can feel her passion for humanity. Nikki Giovanni has the power to move the word forward in the hope that we can achieve the creative futures we want. If we can come together and envision a better future that can lead us towards more love, understanding and compassion. To end with the words of the great Nikki Giovanni, 'If now isn't a good time for the truth I don't see when we'll get to it.' I couldn't agree more, the time for the truth has always been now, right now."

- Camae Ayewa aka Moor Mother (Irreversible Entanglements)


  • First Time on Vinyl in 50 Years
  • Vinyl LP
  • Opaque Yellow Vinyl
  • Cut & Pressed at Third Man
  • New Artwork
  • Liner Notes by Camae Ayewa (Moor Mother)


  1. Great Pax Whitey
  2. Peace Be Still
  3. Nikki Rosa
  4. It Is Well
  5. My Tower
  6. Pretty Little Baby
  7. Alabama Poem
  8. I've Decided To Make Jesus My Choice
  9. Ego Tripping
  10. All I Gotta Do
  11. I Stood On The Banks Of Jordan
  12. Second Rapp Poem
  13. This Little Light Of Mine
  14. Poem For Aretha
  15. Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen
  16. Woman Poem
  17. Amazing Grace
  18. Poem For A Lady Of Leisure Now Retired
  19. Must Jesus Bear The Cross Alone

Customers Also Like