Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nina Simone 1957-1962: The Essential Works Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 2LP

Nina Simone

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

One Of The Greatest Of Her Time On Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 2LP!

Nina Simone was an exceptional artist. She was gifted with a precocious talent and she played music at home and in church. Nina originally counted on becoming the first black female classical pianist; her plans were thwarted and that frustration no doubt permeated almost her entire career. Yet she became a diva capable of combining the jazz world with those of the classics and soul, and among other titles she recorded are some of the most vibrant and moving performances of "Wild Is The Wind" or "You Can Have Him, I Don't Want Him".

She was one of the greatest artists of her time, and her fervour and rigorous demands concerning the quality of her music took her to the highest summits, whether in her compositions or in her vocal and piano performances. For all that, she never forgot her condition as a black woman in the America of the Sixties, and her active commitment to defending the rights of the black minority was exemplary - and at times even excessive, for which she was often reproached.

She has left us some of the most beautiful chapters in jazz and soul music, among them the 23 titles that appear in this album.


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition
  • Limited To 700 Copies
  • Double LP
  • Booklet with details from the recording sessions


Side A:

  1. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  2. Love Me Or Leave Me
  3. I Loves You Porgy
  4. Little Girl Blue
  5. Mood Indigo

Side B:

  1. Blue Prelude
  2. Stomping At The Savoy
  3. You've Been Gone Too Long
  4. That's Him Over There
  5. He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
  6. African Mailman

Side C:

  1. Wild Is The Wind
  2. The Other Woman
  3. Summertime
  4. Exactly Like You
  5. I Don't Want Him, You Can Have Him
  6. Fine And Mellow

Side D:

  1. Work Song
  2. Just Say I Love Him
  3. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
  4. Something To Live For
  5. Can't Get Out Of This Mood
  6. Solitaire

Customers Also Like