Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Duke Ellington 1928-1962: The Essential Works Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 2LP

Duke Ellington

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

All The Duke You Could Ever Need On Double LP!
Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 500 Copies!

Born in the 19th century, Duke Ellington moved through the 20th either initiating or accompanying every modern phase that traversed the world of jazz. He began appearing at the Cotton Club in 1927, and went on to become no doubt one of that century's major jazz figures, recognized by both his peers and an audience that was immense. From the New Orleans style to the big bands of the swing era, from Swing itself to Bebop, and from the "Cool" to the modern jazz of Coltrane and Mingus, he composed and played with peerless musicians and made the transformation of jazz immortal, all in the course of a career lasting fifty years. His own orchestra made each phase tangible, and he composed a huge number of pieces for them.

To those talents he added another: that of revealing, bringing to full bloom and giving new visibility to many, many musicians: Bubber Miley, Johnny Hodges, Cootie Williams, Rex Stewart, Ray Nance, Joe Nanton, Cat Anderson, Billy Strayhorn... The list goes on. The four sides of this album - covering the period 1928-1962 - illustrate not only the path of the composer and the career of the conductor, pianist and bandleader; they also show the evolution of jazz throughout fifty years.


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited To 500
  • Double LP
  • Complete discography and the recording sessions


Side A - From Jungle To Big Band:

  1. The Mooche
  2. Jungle Jamboree
  3. I'm Checking Out Go'om Bye
  4. The C Jam Blues
  5. Caravan
  6. Tenderly

Side B - Duke At The Piano:

  1. Kinda Dukish
  2. Montevideo
  3. Solitude
  4. Cong-Go
  5. Blues For Jerry
  6. In A Sentimental Mood

Side C - Duke's Orchestra:

  1. Duet
  2. Duke's Place
  3. Fat Mouth
  4. Night Stick
  5. Caravan

Side D - New Directions:

  1. Such Sweet Thunder
  2. Half The Fun
  3. Flirtibird
  4. Upper And Outest
  5. Money Jungle
  6. Fleurette Africaine

Customers Also Like