Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Nina Simone 3 Classic Albums Import 3LP

Nina Simone

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition Triple LP - Only 600 Copies!
Digitally Remastered For Vinyl!

This limited edition 3LP set from Real Gone Music includes three full albums from American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and Civil Rights activist Nina Simone: 'Nina Simone Sings Ellington' (1962), 'Forbidden Fruit' (1961) and 'Nina Simone At The Village Gate' (1962). Limited to just 600 copies, these three recordings have been digitally remastered for vinyl.

Nina Simone (February 21, 1933 – April 21, 2003) was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and activist in the Civil Rights Movement. Simone employed a broad range of musical styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop. Simone is regarded as one of the most influential recording artists of the 20th century. According to author, historian and radio host Rickey Vincent, she was a pioneering musician whose career was characterized by "fits of outrage and improvisational genius". Pointing to her composition of "Mississippi Goddam", Vincent said Simone broke the mold, having the courage as "an established black musical entertainer to break from the norms of the industry and produce direct social commentary in her music during the early 1960s".

In naming Simone the 29th greatest singer of all time, Rolling Stone wrote that "her honey-coated, slightly adenoidal cry was one of the most affecting voices of the civil rights movement", while making note of her ability to "belt barroom blues, croon cabaret and explore jazz — sometimes all on a single record." In the opinion of AllMusic's Mark Deming, she was "one of the most gifted vocalists of her generation, and also one of the most eclectic". Creed Taylor, who annotated the liner notes for Simone's 1978 Baltimore album, said the singer possessed a "magnificent intensity" that "turns everything—even the most simple, mundane phrase or lyric—into a radiant, poetic message".

'Nina Simone Sings Ellington' contains songs that were originally composed and recorded by Duke Ellington. On the recording, Simone is complemented by the Malcolm Dodds Singers.

"Nina Simone was on her way to becoming a major name by 1962, with her protest and civil rights songs granting her acclaim and recognition far beyond the jazz world. Sings Ellington is a change of pace for the singer/pianist, who is heard performing 11 songs written by Duke Ellington and/or Billy Strayhorn. Backed by an unidentified string orchestra (the accompaniment is often sparse) and the Malcolm Dodds Singers, she not only revives the usual Duke hits but such obscurities as 'Hey, Buddy Bolden,' 'Merry Mending,' and 'You Better Know It.' None of these performances sound like a typical treatment of Ellington material, with 'I Got It Bad' having a gospel feel, 'Something to Live For' being brief but heartfelt, 'I Like the Sunrise' sounding like a big production number, and 'Satin Doll' being taken as an instrumental. Though short in length, what is here is quite intriguing and original." - Scott Yanow,

'Forbidden Fruit' was Nina Simone's second studio album for Colpix. The rhythm section accompanying her is the same trio as on both live albums before and after this release. 'Nina Simone at the Village Gate' was her third live album for Colpix recorded at The Village Gate, a nightclub in Greenwich Village, New York. It is particularly notable for the amount of folk songs and African related songs on the album early in Simone's career.

"Nina Simone has the rare ability of really being able to dig into material and bring out unexpected meaning in familiar lyrics. On 'Just in Time' from this set, she gives one the impression that if she had not been found 'Just in Time,' she would have committed suicide. During 'He Was Too Good to Me,' Simone sounds absolutely stunned about the end of a love affair. 'Brown Baby' is both hopeful and defiant in its call for freedom, while 'Zungo' is an African work song. Also from her 1961 trio performance at the Village Gate, Simone performs the overly serious 'If He Changed My Name,' the good-time gospel piece 'Children Go Where I Send You,' a regretful rendition of 'House of the Rising Sun,' and an unpredictable instrumental version of 'Bye Bye Blackbird.' Nina Simone, who was always in a category by herself, is heard throughout in her early prime." - Scott Yanow,

• 3LP
• Limited Edition - 600 copies
• Triple Gatefold
• Digitally Remastered & Enhanced For Vinyl
• Made in the E.U.
• Import

LP 1
Nina Sings Ellington
Side A:

1. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
2. I Got It Bad
3. Hey, Buddy Bolden
4. Merry Mending
5. Something To Live For
6. You Better Know It
Side B:
1. I Like The Sunrise
2. Solitude
3. The Gal From Joe's
4. Satin Doll
5. It Don't Mean A Thing

LP 2
Forbidden Fruit
Side A:

1. Rags And Old Iron
2. No Good Man
3. Gin House Blues
4. I'll Look Around
5. I Love To Love
Side B:
1. Work Song
2. Where Can I Go Without You
3. Just Say I Love Him
4. Memphis In June
5. Forbidden Fruit

LP 3
Nina At The Village Gate
Side A:

1. Just In Time
2. He Was Too Good To Me
3. House Of The Rising Sun
4. Bye Bye Blackbird
Side B:
1. Brown Baby
2. Zungo
3. If He Changed My Name
4. Children Go Where I Send You

Customers Also Like