Genre: World
Label: Rhymoi Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Once Upon A Time In Shanghai: Li Yugang Sings Classic Love Songs 180g LP

Li Yugang

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl LP!

Beginning in 1912 and lasting until 1949, the Republican Era still holds a fascination and even nostalgia for many. It was a turbulent time, fraught with many struggles and changes but from out of this crucible came new hopes and new dreams and a multitude of new dreamers – poets, patriots, artists, writers and musicians – whose dreams for the new Republic continue to fire the imagination.

The divine singing of Li Yugang brings to life once again the seductive sounds of that gilded age – the movies, the nightclubs; beautiful "Shanghai Flowers" in their form-hugging qipaos and dapper gents in top hats and tails wander through these songs and call the listener back to an energetic and elegant age; a time when everyone was dreaming fabulous dreams.

Listening to this album, wistfulness for that bygone age will fill your heart: "Meeting By Chance" and "Lotus Flower Blooms" weave their tales of bright beginnings; "Blooming Flowers and Full Moon" tells of the sweetness of love. In "Wandering the Old Dream" we experience lost love and faded youth, while the playful "Rose, Rose I Love You" praises the beloved's tenacity and perseverance; "This Love is not for Me", recounts the inexpressible sadness at the end of an affair, and "If Only We Met Before I Married" describes a love that can never be. The up-beat energy of "Don't Go So Fast" (a song inspired by "On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe") combines girlish flirtation with a distinctive Chinese appreciation of the beauty of springtime, and "Man of My Dreams", with its Latin rhythms and seductive melody evokes love's longing. "Four Seasons Melody" and "Love You Forever" both originally made famous by Zhou Xuan in the '30s were later immortalized by Deng Lijun (Teresa Teng) decades later and continue to be popular to this day.


  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold jacket with copper foil stamped text
  • Made in the EU


Li Yugang vocals


Side A:

  1. Falling Petals
  2. Meeting By Chance
  3. Four Seasons Melody
  4. Rose, Rose I Love You
  5. This Love Is Not For Me
  6. If Only We Met Before I Married

Side B:

  1. Lotus Flower Blooms
  2. Full Moon, Beautiful Flowers
  3. Man Of My Dreams
  4. Don't Go So Fast
  5. Wandering The Old Dream
  6. Love You Forever

Customers Also Like