One With Nature: In a Valley at the Foot of The Great Wall 180g LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl LP!

Clouds roll through the sky, as a small flock of birds pass by. An endless expanse of trees is interrupted only by a lone mountain, its peak surrounded in thick mist. In the distance the call of sparrows can be heard, breaking the otherwise utter silence. This is just a glimpse of the images portrayed by the six musicians on this compilation, who use no brush or canvas to paint their landscapes; instead they use the silk strings of the guqin, the rumble of the drum, the lull of the pipa, the whistle of the bamboo flute, the wail of the erhu, and the thrum of the guzheng. Each instrument brings its own unique hues to the portrait, depicting various scenes of the beauty and serenity of nature. Let the music take you to a place far away, where words aren't necessary, where one can be alone with the call of the birds and the whisper of the wind.

On the cherry-apple tree, dew collects on the freshly blooming flowers, forming droplets which then fall to the ground. Outside the bedroom window of the small cabin, rain patters on the leaves of a banana tree. Birds sing among mountains, fog crawls along a river, waves crash against the shore. These musical embodiments of nature's miracles, vivid and astounding, not only make you want to visit these places, they take you there. On the basis of the traditional Chinese concept of heaven, earth and man coexisting together in harmony, these timeless melodies will sweep you away to places you otherwise can only imagine or dream of.

It's time to slow down; set your mind at ease, let your imagination take you where it may, and visit a place where the only sounds are the song of birds and the trickle of a narrow stream. Set aside all your worries and woes, and escape from the cacophony of the world, to a sanctuary of serenity and everlasting harmony.

This compilation was entirely recorded live, outdoors, beneath the Juyong Pass of the Great Wall, under the expertise of Professor Zeng Tianli of China Communications University, and of Chinese freestyle brushwork artist Ms. Amy Leung. The album has an air which showcases the traditions of Chinese folk music, but at the same time makes many bold and innovative steps into the unknown. Experience the aesthetic aspirations of the ancient Chinese, as these traditional instruments take you across deserts, over rivers, atop mountains, into the vast ocean, and anywhere else that peace may be waiting for you. The musicians, with their expertise in traditional music, refined through new innovative interpretations, allow you to travel back through history, witnessing the beauty of life. Many of the songs are eternal embodiments of legends, such as that of Meng Jiang Nu, who wept at the foot of the Great Wall after her husband was forced to work himself to death there. Renowned music producer Ye Yunchuan brings you a bold new take on traditional Chinese instruments; award-winning musicians Zhao Xiaoxia, Ma Rui, Yu Yuanchun, Su Chang, Li Juan and Ma Ke, along with top-notch recording artist Li Dakang, create a visionary collection of Chinese music, combining traditional aesthetics with novel techniques. Every song is a new world, full of astonishing sights and wondrous sounds.


  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold jacket with foil stamping
  • Made in EU


Zhao Xiaoxia guqin
Yu Yuanchun pipa
Li Juan di, xiao
Su Chang guzheng
Ma Ke erhu
Ma Rui percussion


Side A:

  1. The Sound Of Oars In The Water (Qin)
  2. Wild Geese Landing On The Beach (Qin & Xiao)
  3. The Scent Of Jasmine Flowers (Zheng)
  4. Autumn Musings At The Makeup Table (Di & Zheng)

Side B:

  1. Waves Crashing On The Shore (Pipa)
  2. Bull And Tiger (Percussion)
  3. The Waters Pf The River (Erhu & Yangqin)
  4. Spring On The Heavenly Mountain (Pipa)
  5. Moonlit Night On The Spring River (Zheng, Pipa & Xiao)

Customers Also Like