The Great Combinations 180g Import LP

$34.99 $44.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Audiophile 180g Virgin Vinyl LP!
Mastered from the Original Masters of Sony Music Entertainment!
Pressed at Optimal Media!

This album pairs up different artists for an album of 10 songs ranging from classical to the down-home folk tunes such as "My Old Kentucky Home, Good Night."

It used to be quite the vogue when the disk business was young to pair great singers with string players of equal renown. RCA Victor has revived the practice on this disk with what seems to be a 'Potent' platter property. The diskery has the artists, and the album jackets almost seems to dare, 'Can you match this?' Here are the pairings: Marian Anderson and Gregor Piatigorsky, Robert Merrill and Yehudi Menuhin, Jan Peerce and Mischa Elman, Ezio Pinza and Nathan Milstein, and Rise Stevens and Elman. Selections, two by each combo, are all light and tuneful. In all, a sound commercial and artistic idea, finely executed.


  • Audiophile 180g Virgin Vinyl
  • Pressed at Optimal Media GmbH in Germany
  • Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios in Berlin
  • Mastered from the Original Masters of Sony Music Entertainment
  • Analogphonic release


Marian Anderson contralto
Gregor Piatigorsky cello
Robert Merrill baritone
Yehudi Menuhin violin
Jan Peerce tenor
Mischa Elman violin
Ezio Pinza bass
Nathan Milstein violin
Rise Stevens mezzo-soprano


Side 1:

  1. Carry Me Back To Old Virginny (Marian Anderson & Gregor Piatigorsky)
  2. Xerxes, HWV 40, Act I: May The Fates Be Kind "Ombra mai fu" (Robert Merrill & Yehudi Menuhin)
  3. Angel's Serenade (Jan Peerce & Mischa Elman)
  4. 6 Romances, Op. 6, No. 6: None But The Lonely Heart (Ezio Pinza & Nathan Milstein)
  5. Les Contes d'Hoffman, Act II: Belle nuit, o nuit d'amour, "Barcarolle" (Rise Stevens & Mischa Elman)

Side 2:

  1. Elegie (Rise Stevens & Mischa Elman)
  2. Calm As The Night, Op. 326, No. 27 (Ezio Pinza & Nathan Milstein)
  3. O Dry Those Tears (Jan Peerce & Mischa Elman)
  4. 6 Songs, Op. 4, No. 3: In The Silence Of The Secret Night (Robert Merrill & Yehudi Menuhin)
  5. My Old Kentucky Home (Marian Anderson & Gregor Piatigorsky)

Customers Also Like