Genre: Alternative
Label: BMG
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Pussy Riot EMTEE
Format: 33RPM,


Our Lady Peace Spiritual Machines II LP

Our Lady Peace

$14.99 $24.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Sequel To 2000 Album On Vinyl LP!
Includes "Stop Making Stupid People Famous" Feat. Pussy Riot's Nadya Tolokno!

Multi-platinum alt-rock band Our Lady Peace releases the sequel to their critically acclaimed 2000 album Spiritual Machines, a record which has become a pillar of early 2000s alt rock and a prime example of the band's creative brilliance. Spiritual Machines II serves as the answer to the 2000 LP which was influenced by inventor and futurist Ray Kurzweil's book The Age Of The Spiritual Machines and marks an uplifting new chapter for OLP, carving out a new genre that is best described as future rock, with each song crafted to represent the new predictions for our future as a society.

"I wasn't sure OLP was capable of this album," stated frontman Raine Maida. "I definitely wanted to make an album like this but knew the stars would have to come together to get even close. Those stars came in the form of Dave Sitek and a pandemic. Dave was our guide on this rhythm-based, sonic experiment & the lockdown allowed us to take our time, and not force anything."

Produced by TV On The Radio's Dave Sitek (Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs, Weezer) with additional production by Jason Lader on three tracks, the album features the return of Kurzweil with new predictions such as near-future with UBI (Universal Basic Income), AI that will pass the Turing Test by 2029, and sustainable solutions to ending global hunger and poverty. Spiritual Machines II includes track "Stop Making Stupid People Famous", featuring Nadya Tolokno of the iconoclastic feminist Russian group Pussy Riot, serving as a reflection on society's preoccupation with celebrity influencer culture.

Other album highlights include the ironic feel-good of "Future Disease" and "Holes", a sister song to early OLP classic "Superman's Dead" that uses a descending single-note guitar synth riff to make us feel like we're sinking into life's darkness. "19 Days" asks: How do we heal, and has technology hurt or helped us in that repair? Album closer "Temporary Healing" gives an answer: No matter how hard it is, we must honor that journey to heal. "Run" reminds us of the very human contradiction of escape, to flight or fight, while "Simulation" shows us the technological contradiction of progress.

The first Spiritual Machines wasn't a typical mainstream rock record, it had anthemic guitar hooks next to literal predictive modelings addressing a future dependent on AI and the legal rights of computers. "Twenty years later, Spiritual Machines predictions have mostly come true, 86% to be exact," said Maida. "Now, new predictions must be made for the future - and with groundbreaking advances in technology, there's reason to celebrate."


  • Vinyl LP
  • Explicit Content
  • Made in France


Side A:

  1. RK1.Age Of Spiritual Machines
  2. Stop Making Stupid People Famous (feat. Pussy Riot)
  3. Holes
  4. RK2.Consciousness
  5. The Message
  6. Wish You Well
  7. RK3.UBI
  8. Future Disease

Side B:

  1. 19 Days
  2. Run
  3. RK4.Escape Velocity (feat. EMTEE)
  4. Simulation
  5. Good Die Young
  6. RK5.Turing Test
  7. Temporary Healing

Customers Also Like