Genre: Jazz
Label: Premonition


Patricia Barber Nightclub Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape (2 Reels)

Patricia Barber

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Extremely Limited Quantities!
Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape!
Exceptional Audiophile Sound!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Premonition Records announces the release of its second master tape, Patricia Barber's Nightclub. Premonition's first master tape release, Patricia Barber's Café Blue, was a huge success with critics and listeners alike. Here's what The Absolute Sound said: "So far Premonition has only issued one r2r, but it's a doozie, Patricia Barber's Café Blue in the recent Capitol Studios remix! Wait till you hear Too Rich For My Blood" on 15ips tape! (An interesting note: this album was originally recorded 48khz/16-bit digital—the only title on this list that wasn't recorded on analog tape. And yet…it has always sounded great on LP and now even greater on r2r. go figure.)". With that type of response, Premonition has enlisted the same team for the release of Nightclub.

Each tape is copied directly from the digital master file created by Bob Ludwig to a custom-built analog, Sony APR 5003 tape recorder, mounted on custom supports, employing custom wiring and custom AC conditioning. Each tape is recorded, one at a time, to 15ips IEC, ¼" half-track.

Nightclub, vocalist/pianist Patricia Barber's first of standards was a long time coming. From the very beginning of her brilliant 20-year career, devoted fans, including her own mother, had been begging Barber to dedicate a record to standards. "These songs have always been a part of my repertoire and are a big part of who I am but I wanted to try and define myself in a different way before making a record like this," she said in September of 2000 when Nightclub was first released.
It was, and is, hard to argue with her approach. Accompanied by an all-star cast of supporting musicians, Barber delivered an album Time called "devastating". Highlights include her stunning version of "Yesterdays", the rarely recorded vocal version of "Invitation", and an achingly beautiful take on "So In Love" from the songbook of Barber's songwriting idol, Cole Porter. A multiple Stereophile R2D4 winner recorded by Jim Anderson, Nightclub is the American popular songbook given new life by one of the most expressive voices in contemporary music.

** It is standard practice in all recording studios to keep the tape "tail out". This reduces "pre-echo" and it means that the tape should be placed on the right hand side of the recorder, re-wound and then played.

"An extraordinary recording by an extraordinary artist." - Stereophile

"Throaty, come hither vocals and coolly incisive piano. Barber's hushed, sensuous version of 'Bye Bye Blackird' hasn't been bettered since Miles Davis last took the old standby out for a spin." - Time Magazine

"[Barber's music] is the kind of art we need to be on the lookout for everywhere. The 21st century has started. We can't afford to be left behind." - New York Times

"Top 100 Albums To Take With You On A Desert Island" - MOJO

• Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape
• 2-Reels
• Recorded by Jim Anderson
• Mastered by Bob Ludwig
• Tape duplication by Jonathan Horwich of International Phonograph, Inc.
• Each tape copied directly from digital master file created by Bob Ludwig
• Each tape recorded one at a time to 15ips IEC, 1/4" half-track
• Over 60 minutes of music including the bonus track "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town"
• Packaged in ATR Magnetics Tape Care boxes for maximum protection
• Include custom color labeling and inserts

Patricia Barber, vocals, piano
Michael Arnopol, bass
Adam Cruz, drums
Charlie Hunter, 8-string guitar
Marc Johnson, bass
Adam Nussbaum, drums

1. Bye Bye Blackbird
2. Yesterdays
3. Just For A Thrill
4. You Don't Know Me
5. Alfie
6. Invitation
7. Autumn Leaves
8. Summer Samba
9. A Man & A Woman
10. So In Love
11. All Or Nothing At All
12. I Fall In Love Too Easily
13. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town*

*Bonus Track

Customers Also Like