Pharoah Sanders Shukuru 180g LP

Pharoah Sanders

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition 180g High-Quality Pressing!
Re-Mastering by Cicely Baston at Air Mastering!
First Vinyl Release of the Track "For Big George"!

Pharoah Sanders' Shukuru is noteworthy as being the album that reunited Sanders with vocalist Leon Thomas, who sang on some of Sanders' most endearing and powerful compositions - among them the legendary "The Creator Has a Masterplan."

Thomas only joins the band on two tracks - "Mas in Brooklyn (Highlife)" and "Sun Song." The former gets a full calypso reading complete with steel drum sounds and chanted vocals traded between Sanders and Thomas. It's a lot of fun, but by and large, throwaway. The latter is one of the true gems on the album - a pretty ballad that serves as both a launching point for Sanders' best balladry and Thomas' vocal, with the latter soaring in his upper register wordlessly between verses intoned in his trademark baritone. It's by and large simply stunning.

The rest of the record has got its issues however, and by and large this comes in the part of Henderson's synthesizer - while his piano tone is virtually indistinguishable from an acoustic piano, several tracks receive irritating synth vocals or strings (it's really hard to tell which, it's fairly indistinct and obnoxious), mangling otherwise fine performances of traditional tenor feature "Body and Soul," Sanders-penned "Jitu" (although admittedly the leader manages such a powerful solo it gets past it) and an absolutely breathtaking reading of "Too Young to Go Steady." At least opener "Shukuru" and closing funereal piece "For Big George" are spared this as the use of synths of them are far more tasteful (although one questions Sanders' choice to intone his wife's name over the former's smokey lines, but that's another story).

- by Vine Voice


  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastering by Cicely Baston at Air Mastering, London
  • Standard Sleeve
  • First Vinyl Release of "For Big George"
  • Import


Pharoah Sanders tenor saxophone, vocals (A1, A3)
Leon Thomas vocals (A3, B1)
William Henderson Kurzweil 250 (piano, strings, voices, effects)
Ray Drummond bass
Idris Muhammad drums


Side A:

  1. Shukuru
  2. Body and Soul
  3. Mas In Brooklyn (Highlife)
  4. Sun Song

Side B:

  1. Too Young To Go Steady
  2. Jitu
  3. For Big George (First vinyl release of this track)

Customers Also Like