Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Phil Woods Quintet Ballads & Blues Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Phil Woods Quintet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Woods Joined by Superb Quintet!

One of the best living alto saxophone players, Phil Woods returned to Venus Records for the first time in six years with his star-studded quintet which includes Brian Lynch and Bill Charlap.

Recorded in 2008, Ballds & Blues also represents Woods' first composer's songbook dedicated to Billy Strayhorn. Choosing predominantly slow and medium tempos, Woods shines with his big, warm and expressive tone, soulful blues feel and wailing melancholy. The supporting cast is also superb. This album will be remembered as one of Woods' best.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Phil Woods, alto sax
Brian Lynch, trumpet
Bill Charlap, piano
Steve Gilmore, bass
Bill Goodwin, drums

1. Blood Count
2. Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
3. Balcony Serenade
4. Isfahan
5. Ballad Medley: I Didn't Know About You / Lotus Blossom / Don't You Know I Care
6. How Little We Know
7. Ballad For Very Tired And Very Sad Lotus Eaters
8. Lush Life
9. My Little Brown Book
10. Rain Check
11. Jonny Come Lately
12. Take The A Train

Customers Also Like