Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Barney Wilen Quintet Passione Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Barney Wilen Quintet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Effectively Captures Wilen's Final Creative Spark!

French saxophonist Barney Wilen is one of the most renowned European jazz musicians. Wilen performed with Miles Davis in 1957 on the Ascenseur pour l'echafaud soundtrack. He has also worked with Kenny Clarke and Thelonious Monk on other film soundtracks. During the last ten or so years of his life, Wilen has a career resurgence thanks in part to his releases on Venus Records.

Passione, recorded in June 1995, was Wilen's last recording as he passed away the following year at age 59. Not showing any indication of his illness, Passione displays Wilen in top form, sounding at ease, inspired, and powerful. One of Italy's most well-known jazz musicians, trumpeter Enrico Rava, joins Wilen to create a very appealing front line.

Wilen is supported by a highly competent rhythm section. The quintet cheerfully swings on "Jitterbug Waltz" and Gerry Mulligan's "Line for Lyons," and displays strong emotion on the gorgeous "Estate" and the title track. The eclectic program also includes Latin and Italian songs. This exceptional album effectively captured Wilen's final creative spark.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Barney Wilen, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
Enrico Rava, trumpet
Alain Jean-Marie, piano
Gilles Naturel, bass
Philippe Soirat, drums

1. Jitterbug Waltz
2. My Ship
3. Line For Lyons
4. Estate
5. Venetian Rumba
6. Passione
7. Begonia
8. Besame Mucho
9. Bella Chao
10. I Cover The Waterfront
11. Al Herraz

Customers Also Like