Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy


Pink Floyd Delicate Sound Of Thunder 2CD, DVD & Blu-Ray Box Set

Pink Floyd

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

2CD, DVD & Blu-Ray Box Set!
Audio Remixed From Original Master Tapes!
Video Re-Edited From Original Restored 35mm Footage!
Includes 40-Page Booklet, Tour Poster & Postcards!

The first break out package from the Pink Floyd 'The Later Years' set, Delicate Sound Of Thunder, has been remixed, restored and re-edited as a 2CD, DVD and Blu-Ray Box Set.

The release of Delicate Sound Of Thunder encapsulates a band at their best. Alongside the classic live album and full concert film (restored and re-edited from the original 35mm film and enhanced with 5.1 surround sound), included in The Later Years box set, this edition features a 40-page photo booklet, tour poster and postcards. The 2-CD includes 8 tracks more than its original release.

In 1987, Pink Floyd made a triumphant resurgence. The legendary British band, formed in 1967, had suffered the loss of two co-founders: keyboardist / vocalist Richard Wright, who left after sessions for The Wall in 1979, and bass player and lyricist Roger Waters, who had left to go solo in 1985, soon after the 1983 album The Final Cut.

The gauntlet was thus laid down for guitarist/singer David Gilmour and drummer Nick Mason, who proceeded to create the multi-platinum A Momentary Lapse Of Reason album, a global chart smash, which also saw the return of Richard Wright to the fold.

Originally released in September 1987, A Momentary Lapse Of Reason was quickly embraced by fans worldwide, who flocked to attend the live tour dates, which started within days of the album's release. The tour played to more than 4.25 million fans over more than two years, and, as a celebration of the enduring talent and global appeal of Pink Floyd, was unsurpassed at the time.

Filmed at Long Island's Nassau Coliseum in August 1988 and directed by Wayne Isham, the 2020 release of the Grammy Award nominated Delicate Sound Of Thunder is sourced directly from over 100 cans of original 35mm negatives, painstakingly restored and transferred to 4K, and completely re-edited by Benny Trickett from the restored and upgraded footage, under the creative direction of Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis. Similarly, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with Pink Floyd's David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Pink Floyd's stellar supporting cast for the live dates included: Jon Carin (Keyboards, Vocals), Tim Renwick (Guitars, Vocals), Guy Pratt (Bass, Vocals), Gary Wallis (Percussion), Scott Page (Saxophones, Guitar), Margret Taylor (Backing Vocals), Rachel Fury (Backing Vocals) and Durga McBroom (Backing Vocals).

Technical credits include: Film Producers: Curt Marvis and Carl Wyant; Director of Photography: Marc Reshovsky; Lighting Designer: Marc Brickman, with conceptual footage directed by Storm Thorgerson, except "Money" directed by Storm Thorgerson, Barry Chattington and Peter Medak. Animation on "Time" was by Ian Emes.

The setlist carefully balances the then-new material and Pink Floyd classics, including songs from The Dark Side Of The Moon ("Time", "On The Run", "The Great Gig In The Sky" and "Us And Them"), the anthemic title track of Wish You Were Here, The Wall's "Comfortably Numb" and a cathartic "Run Like Hell". The 2-CD version features all the songs from A Momentary Lapse Of Reason including the powerful "Learning To Fly", the lyrical "On The Turning Away" and the mesmerising "Sorrow".

As a record of the creative power of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright at their incendiary best, Pink Floyd's Delicate Sound of Thunder is an engrossing and uplifting event, to be enjoyed by any rock music fan.


  • 4-Disc Box Set
  • 2CD (23 songs incl. 8 bonus tracks not on 1988 2CD)
  • Blu-Ray (21 songs incl. 5 bonus tracks not on Standard Blu-Ray disc)
  • DVD (21 songs incl. 5 bonus tracks not included on Standard DVD disc)
  • Filmed over 5 nights at the Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, Long Island, New York, USA, August 19-23 1988
  • Lift-off top box with die-cut circle in lid to reveal band on stage
  • 40-page booklet, perfect bound
  • Double sided poster
  • 5 postcards
  • Blu-Ray: Stereo PCM 96/24, 5.1 dts Master Audio (96/24)
  • DVD - Stereo PCM (48/16), 5.1 Dolby Digital (48/16), 5.1 dts (48/16)
  • Cinema footage edited from 100+ cans of the original 35mm footage, restored and scanned and restored to 4K
  • Audio produced by David Gilmour
  • Remixed by Andy Jackson with David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins
  • Creative Director Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis
  • Length: 4 hours, 36 mins (141 Mins audio / 135 Mins AV) Plus 135 mins repeated on DVD
  • NTSC, Region 0


CD 1 (Part 1)

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Yet Another Movie
  5. Round And Around
  6. A New Machine Part 1
  7. Terminal Frost
  8. A New Machine Part 2
  9. Sorrow
  10. The Dogs Of War
  11. On The Turning Away

CD 2 (Part 2)

  1. One Of These Days
  2. Time
  3. On The Run
  4. The Great Gig In The Sky
  5. Wish You Were Here
  6. Welcome To The Machine
  7. Us And Them
  8. Money
  9. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
  10. Comfortably Numb
  11. One Slip
  12. Run Like Hell

Blu-Ray & DVD

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Sorrow
  5. The Dogs Of War
  6. On The Turning Away
  7. One Of These Days
  8. Time
  9. On The Run
  10. The Great Gig In The Sky
  11. Wish You Were Here
  12. Us And Them
  13. Money
  14. Comfortably Numb
  15. One Slip
  16. Run Like Hell
  17. Yet Another Movie (Bonus Track)
  18. Round And Around (Bonus Track)
  19. A New Machine Part 1 (Bonus Track)
  20. Terminal Frost (Bonus Track)
  21. A New Machine Part 2 (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like