Pink Floyd Delicate Sound Of Thunder 2CD

Pink Floyd

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Remixed & Remastered From Original Master Tapes On 2CD!
Includes 8 Tracks Not On Original 1988 CD Release!

The first break out package from the Pink Floyd 'The Later Years' set, Delicate Sound Of Thunder, has been remixed and remastered on 2CD.

The release of Delicate Sound Of Thunder encapsulates a band at their best. Alongside the classic live album, included in 'The Later Years' box set, this edition features a 24-page photo booklet and includes 8 tracks more than its original release.

In 1987, Pink Floyd made a triumphant resurgence. The legendary British band, formed in 1967, had suffered the loss of two co-founders: keyboardist / vocalist Richard Wright, who left after sessions for The Wall in 1979, and bass player and lyricist Roger Waters, who had left to go solo in 1985, soon after the 1983 album The Final Cut.

The gauntlet was thus laid down for guitarist/singer David Gilmour and drummer Nick Mason, who proceeded to create the multi-platinum A Momentary Lapse Of Reason album, a global chart smash, which also saw the return of Richard Wright to the fold.

Originally released in September 1987, A Momentary Lapse Of Reason was quickly embraced by fans worldwide, who flocked to attend the live tour dates, which started within days of the album's release. The tour played to more than 4.25 million fans over more than two years, and, as a celebration of the enduring talent and global appeal of Pink Floyd, was unsurpassed at the time.

Filmed at Long Island's Nassau Coliseum in August 1988, the sound was completely remixed from the original multitrack tapes by longtime Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson with Pink Floyd's David Gilmour, assisted by Damon Iddins.

Pink Floyd's stellar supporting cast for the live dates included: Jon Carin (Keyboards, Vocals), Tim Renwick (Guitars, Vocals), Guy Pratt (Bass, Vocals), Gary Wallis (Percussion), Scott Page (Saxophones, Guitar), Margret Taylor (Backing Vocals), Rachel Fury (Backing Vocals) and Durga McBroom (Backing Vocals).

The setlist carefully balances the then-new material and Pink Floyd classics, including songs from The Dark Side Of The Moon ("Time", "On The Run", "The Great Gig In The Sky" and "Us And Them"), the anthemic title track of Wish You Were Here, The Wall's "Comfortably Numb" and a cathartic "Run Like Hell". The 2-CD version features all the songs from A Momentary Lapse Of Reason including the powerful "Learning To Fly", the lyrical "On The Turning Away" and the mesmerising "Sorrow".

As a record of the creative power of David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright at their incendiary best, Pink Floyd's Delicate Sound of Thunder is an engrossing and uplifting event, to be enjoyed by any rock music fan.


  • 2CD
  • 23 songs incl. 8 bonus tracks not on 1988 2CD
  • Full 2 hour, 21 mins show
  • Remixed & Remastered from the original master tapes
  • Remixed by Andy Jackson with David Gilmour assisted by Damon Iddins
  • 6 panel digipak with 24-page booklet in center


Disc 1 (Part 1)

  1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Signs Of Life (Bonus Track)
  3. Learning To Fly
  4. Yet Another Movie
  5. Round And Around
  6. A New Machine Part 1 (Bonus Track)
  7. Terminal Frost (Bonus Track)
  8. A New Machine Part 2(Bonus Track)
  9. Sorrow
  10. The Dogs Of War
  11. On The Turning Away

Disc 2 (Part 2)

  1. One Of These Days
  2. Time
  3. On The Run (Bonus Track)
  4. The Great Gig In The Sky (Bonus Track)
  5. Wish You Were Here
  6. Welcome To The Machine (Bonus Track)
  7. Us And Them
  8. Money
  9. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
  10. Comfortably Numb
  11. One Slip (Bonus Track)
  12. Run Like Hell

Customers Also Like