Genre: Alternative
Label: Island
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


PJ Harvey White Chalk 45rpm LP

PJ Harvey

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

7th Studio Album Reissued On 45rpm Vinyl LP!

Reissue on vinyl of the seventh PJ Harvey studio album White Chalk. The album was produced by PJ Harvey, Flood and John Parish and originally released in September 2007. White Chalk features the singles "When Under Ether", "The Piano" and "The Devil". Reissue is faithful to the original recording and package, with cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering under the guidance of original co-producer John Parish.

PJ Harvey's seventh album White Chalk was a pleasant shock to the system when it was released in 2007. Gone were the slashing guitars and slinky grooves of her previous work. In came spare folky instrumentation (zither, harp, banjo) and piano, and Harvey straining to hit notes and wailing in a wavering falsetto. Combined with lyrics that reveal a deep well of regret and loss at the core of these songs, the music chills the skin like sinking into a cold milk bath. The vinyl reissue campaign of Harvey's discography continues with White Chalk and an alternate version of the album in demo form. The original LP sounds as good as ever thanks to the thoughtful mastering of Jason Mitchell and John Parish, who cut the lacquers at 45 RPM. This helps stretch the short album over two sides of wax and beefs up the album's minimalist low end. As ever, the demo takes of these same songs feel as fleshed out as the finished product. Harvey always has such a precise understanding of where her songs are going. All her collaborators, which on White Chalk included Parish, Dirty Three drummer Jim White and ex-Pere Ubu member Eric Drew Feldman, had to do was flesh out the details under her watchful eye.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Vinyl LP
  • 45rpm
  • Cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering under the guidance of original co-producer John Parish
  • Faithful to the original recording & package
  • Made in Germany


Side A:

  1. The Devil
  2. Dear Darkness
  3. Grow Grow Grow
  4. When Under Ether
  5. White Chalk

Side B:

  1. Broken Harp
  2. Silence
  3. To Talk To You
  4. The Piano
  5. Before Departure
  6. The Mountain

Customers Also Like