Genre: Pop Rock


Poco Pickin' Up The Pieces Numbered Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out Of Print! Only a few copies available!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering!

The 1st Band to Effectively Fuse Equal Parts Rock & Country! A Landmark Album!

When Neil Young and Stephen Stills decided to call it quits and leave Buffalo Springfield all was not lost. From the ashes arose not only CSN and CSN&Y but also Poco, one of the first and most accomplished practitioners of what would become known as Country-Rock. Pickin' Up The Pieces, released in 1969, is Poco's debut album.

From Buffalo Springfield came the talented duo of Jim Messina and Richie Furay. The other original members were steel guitarist Rusty Young (whose playing is a standout feature of this recording), singer-drummer George Grantham and bass player-singer Randy Meisner.

Furay and Messina literally picked up the pieces of their former band and created a landmark in the history of music for prior to Pickin' Up The Pieces others had ventured into similar territory, but nobody had ever really created a full-length album of rock music infused with the elements of country music.

More than any other Poco album, Furay took center stage as the #1 songwriter, contributing to almost all of the tunes. "Just In Case It Happens," "Yes Indeed," "Grand Junction" and "Consequently So Long" are all Poco classics.

"The title track is practically an anthem for the virtues of country-rock, with the kind of sweet harmonizing and tight interplay between the guitars that the Byrds, the Burritos, and others had to work awhile to achieve. The mix of good-time songs ("Consequently So Long," "Calico Lady"), fast-paced instrumentals ("Grand Junction"), and overall rosy feelings makes this a great introduction to the band, as well as a landmark in country-rock only slightly less important (but arguably more enjoyable than) Sweetheart of the Rodeo." - Bruce Eder,, Rated 4.5/5 Stars!

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering

Jim Messina, guitar, vocals
Richie Furay, guitar, 12-string guitar, vocals
Rusty Young, steel guitar, banjo, dobro, guitar, piano
Randy Meisner, bass, guitar, vocals
George Grantham, drums, vocals

1. Foreword
2. What A Day
3. Nobody's Fool
4. Calico Lady
5. First Love
6. Make Me A Smile
7. Short Changed
8. Pickin' Up The Pieces
9. Grand Junction
10. Oh Yeah
11. Just In Case It Happens, Yes Indeed
12. Tomorrow
13. Consequently, So Long

Customers Also Like