Genre: Pop Rock


Styx Pieces of Eight Numbered Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out Of Print! Only a few copies available!

Numbered, Limited Edition Hybrid SACD!

"… a feisty, straightforward brand of album rock, shows Styx at the peak of their powers!"

The eighth studio album by Styx, 1978's Pieces of Eight peaked at #6 on the Billboard album chart. The album managed to achieve triple-platinum certification, thanks to the three hit singles "Sing for the Day", "Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)" and "Renegade". The band members, Dennis DeYoung (keyboards, vocals), Tommy Shaw (guitar, mandolin, vocals), James "JY" Young (guitar, vocals), Chuck Panozzo (bass) and John Panozzo (drums), produced and recorded the album.

Many critics consider Pieces of Eight a concept album as well as the last Styx album with the significant progressive rock leanings that characterized their previous albums. The theme of the album was about "not giving up your dreams just for the pursuit of money and material possessions" according to Dennis DeYoung.

Pieces of Eight features the width of Styx talents and maintains its quality while exploring a lot of different musical styles, all wrapped up in a prog rock veneer with impressive instrumental prowess, outstanding harmonies, and catchy songwriting.

Two of the album's ten tracks are instrumentals: the DeYoung synthesizer showcase "The Message" and Tommy Shaw's closing "Aku-Aku."

The album's cover was done by Hipgnosis.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

1. Great White Hope
2. I'm O.K.
3. Sing For The Day
4. The Message
5. Lords Of The Ring
6. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
7. Queen Of Spades
8. Renegade
9. Pieces Of Eight
10. Aku-Aku

Customers Also Like