Prokofiev Alexander Nevsky & Lietenant Kije Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

This Multi-channel SACD features outstanding recording quality of Prokofiev music originally composed as scores for Russian cinema. Prokofiev's orchestral works are performed by the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra and conducted by Leonard Slatkin.

Originally composed as scores for Russian cinema, Alexander Nevsky and Lieutenant Kije are among Prokofiev's most popular and enduring orchestral and choral works. Featuring outstanding recording quality via the legendary production and engineering team of Marc Aubort and Joanna Nickerenz and Mobile Fidelity's proprietary GAIN 2 mastering technology, this Ultradisc UHR Surround SACD release presents some of the most bombastic, eerie and titillating symphonic music ever produced and valuable insight into 20th Century Russian classical music.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor
Claudine Carlson, mezzo-soprano
Arnold Voketaitis, bass

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Alexander Nevsky
Cantata, Op. 78

1. Russia Under the Mongolian Yoke
2. Song About Alexander Nevsky
3. The Crusaders in Pskov
4. Arise, Ye Russian People
5. The Battle On The Ice
6. The Field Of The Dead
7. Alexander's Entry Into Pskov
Lieutenant Kije
Symphonic Suite, Op. 60

8. The Birth Of Kije
9. Romance
10. Kije's Wedding
11. Troika
12. The Burial Of Kije