Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


R.E.M. Monster 180g 2LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

25th Anniversary Reissue Of Acclaimed Album On 180g Double LP!
Expanded Edition Includes Original LP + 2019 Remixed Version!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

This expanded anniversary edition of Monster, offering the original album and the 2019 remixed version, is available on two 180-gram vinyl LPs featuring reimagined cover art by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer.

When Monster was released in September 1994, the members of R.E.M. were at a crossroads in their career. Singer Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills and drummer Bill Berry were decompressing from the massive commercial and critical success of 1991's Out Of Time and 1992's Automatic For The People. In just a few years, the Athens, GA, four-piece had become one of the biggest, most recognizable bands in the world, thanks to hits like "Losing My Religion", "Man On The Moon" and "Everybody Hurts". It had also been six years since the group had toured.

By the time that work began on Monster, they were itching to end their self-imposed hiatus and get back on the road. The band was also looking for a sonic shake-up. While R.E.M.'s last two albums were full of ballads, acoustic rock songs and intricate arrangements, the group was ready to record something grittier, brasher and highly playable on stage. In his liner notes, journalist Matthew Perpetua writes that Monster "had no precedent in the band's catalogue," adding that R.E.M had "never been this distorted and dirty, or this glam or this flirty." Buck recalls, "We were trying to feel like a different band ... We wanted to get away from who we were." The group was also reeling from the strange nature of celebrity and identity, and many of the songs in this album reflect that. Perpetua notes, "There's no question that the characters on Monster are all dealing with obsession in some form or another, whether it's the infatuated narrator of 'Crush With Eyeliner,' the lovelorn protagonist of 'Strange Currencies,' or the cackling supervillain in 'I Took Your Name.'" As dark as some of the subject matter is, though, R.E.M. still infuses the songs with a dash of absurdity, irony and a humorous wink.

Highlights off the album include the distortion-soaked first single, "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?" which plays off the farce of media and marketing that pervaded Gen X pop-culture, while the catchy "Star 69" is a detective story, based on the '90s phone service of the same name (a precursor to caller ID). The second single, "Bang and Blame" features Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore, as well as actress Rain Phoenix--whose brother, River, had recently passed away and was Monster's dedicatee. "Let Me In" is an ode to Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain, who had died by suicide just months before. Mills, who swapped his bass for Cobain's guitar on the track, shares, "It's Michael's cathartic release in response to the loss of a good friend and someone we all felt creatively aligned with."

The band's new artistic direction proved to be a hit. Monster debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 and would be certified four-times Platinum in the U.S. Rolling Stone offered this praise: "R.E.M.'s exceptional pop craftsmanship, their luminous melodic inventions, their sense of mission--in short, everything fundamental--are still there and shining more brightly than ever ... Monster is one urgent-sounding album, and that's as it should be."

In addition to having the chance to reflect on Monster, R.E.M. also had the opportunity to revisit the album creatively with their longtime producer, Scott Litt. Litt, who struggled with the original mix, recalls, "I had told the band through the years that if there was ever a chance to take another shot at mixing the album, I wanted to do it." Now, 25 years later, he's had the chance, and the results are striking. On some songs, according to Perpetua, Litt's work features "Entirely different vocal takes and instrumental parts that were either buried or excised from the original album mix." Mills adds, "I think as he listened to it over the years, he began to hear a different way to realize those songs." Ultimately, with this reissue, fans will not only have the opportunity to re-discover Monster but also, perhaps, see the album in a completely new light.


  • 25th Anniversary Expanded Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Original LP remastered by Greg Calibi at Sterling Sound from the original analog master
  • Special 2019 remix LP from original producer Scott Litt
  • Reimagined cover art by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer
  • Gatefold jacket
  • New liner notes featuring interviews from members of the band
  • Made in the USA


Side A:

  1. What's The Frequency, Kenneth?
  2. Crush With Eyeliner
  3. King Of Comedy
  4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream
  5. Star 69
  6. Strange Currencies

Side B:

  1. Tongue
  2. Bang And Blame
  3. I Took Your Name
  4. Let Me In
  5. Circus Envy
  6. You

Side C:

  1. What's The Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix)
  2. Crush With Eyeliner (Remix)
  3. King Of Comedy (Remix)
  4. I Don't Sleep, I Dream (Remix)
  5. Star 69 (Remix)
  6. Strange Currencies (Remix)

Side D:

  1. Tongue (Remix)
  2. Bang And Blame (Remix)
  3. I Took Your Name (Remix)
  4. Let Me In (Remix)
  5. Circus Envy (Remix)
  6. You (Remix)

Customers Also Like