Rachael & Vilray Rachael & Vilray LP

Rachael & Vilray

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Acclaimed Lake Street Dive Vocalist Sings The Tender New Songs Of Vilray!
Features Originals + Covers Of "Nosotros" & "I Love The Way You're Breaking My Heart"!
A Sound That Recalls The Warmth Of Radio's Golden Age!

Rachael & Vilray is the debut album by Lake Street Dive singer-songwriter Rachael Price and composer, singer and guitarist Vilray. The twelve-song set features ten originals by Vilray, along with two covers from the era that inspired him: Cuban composer Pedro Junco Jr.'s 1943 "Nosotros" and Milton Drake/Louis Atler's "I Love The Way You're Breaking My Heart", first popularized by Peggy Lee. Price and Vilray, who began performing together in 2015, recorded the album with Lake Street Dive pianist Akie Bermiss, a rhythm section and a small complement of horns, plus a guest performance from pianist Jon Batiste on "Go On Shining". Dan Knobler, who had worked with Lake Street Dive on the Free Yourself Up album, produced.

Rachael Price (Lake Street Dive) and Vilray became friends when they were students at the New England Conservatory of Music and formed a duo based on their shared reverence for the pop music of the 1930s and '40s. They perform original works and revive forgotten gems of the jazz big bands and western swing ensembles. Rachael and Vilray's sound recalls both the warmth of radio's golden age and the intimacy of parlor concerts in a time before recordings.

It's a special kind of magic when two voices meet and immediately sound like they've never been apart. The voices of acoustic duo Rachael & Vilray are magical enough on their own, but when they blend in song the results are utterly sublime.


  • Vinyl LP


Rachael Price vocals
Vilray vocals, guitar
Akie Bermiss piano, organ
Tony Scherr bass
Jason Burger drums
Jacob Rex Zimmerman clarinet, alto sax, horn arrangements
Mark Lopeman tenor sax
Jon-Erik Kellso trumpet
Joe McDonough trombone
Alec Spiegelman winds ("There's No True Love")
Jon Batiste piano ("Go On Shining")


Side A:

  1. Without A Thought For My Heart
  2. Do Friends Fall In Love?
  3. Alone At Last
  4. Treat Me Better
  5. Nosotros
  6. At Your Mother's House

Side B:

  1. I Can't Go To Sleep
  2. I Love The Way You're Breaking My Heart
  3. The Laundromat Swing
  4. Go On Shining (feat. Jon Batiste)
  5. Let's Make Love On This Plane
  6. There's No True Love

Customers Also Like