Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances & Vocalise Hybrid Stereo SACD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Mastered by Kevin Gray from the original Vox Turnabout label master tapes!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Donald Johanos conducts the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. Little needs to be said about this audiophile classic known for its demonstration qualities with very low, deep bass and overall smooth and warm sound.

"The tape recording was made at a speed of 30 inches-per-second, using a transport modified to produce exceptionally good motion: a specially developed constant-velocity recording curve was employed for improved signal-to-noise ratio. The lacquer masters were made directly from the original tape, thus avoiding further transfer degradation. The result is a recording of exceptional clarity, naturalness and freedom from vices prevalent generally in the art." - from the original liner notes

"If ever there was a piece of symphonic music perfectly suited for non-classical music lovers to find a way into the genre, this would be it. The music, based on folk themes, is tuneful, accessible and rhythmically sweeping. The orchestration provides a rich, colorful palette of strings, horns, woodwinds, percussion and unusually, even a saxophone. The recording, produced in McFarlin Auditorium at Southern Methodist University is relatively dry and intimately voiced. Dynamics are explosive and orchestral timbres remarkably accurate. The stereo spread is realistically compact given the close to the stage perspective. " - Michael Fremer,, Music 10, Sound 10

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Mastered from the Original Vox Turnabout label master tapes!
• Mastered at AcousTech by Kevin Gray

Dallas Symphony Orchestra
Donald Johanos, conductor

Sergey Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
Symphonic Dances for Orchestra, Op. 45

1. Non allegro
2. Andante con moto: Temp di valse
3. Lento assai; Allegro vivace
"Vocalise" for Orchestra, Op. 34, No. 14

Customers Also Like