Genre: Pop Rock
Label: New West
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Richard Thompson Electric 180g 2LP

Richard Thompson

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Double LP! Former Fairpoint Convention Band Member! Folk-Funk!
Rolling Stone 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time - Rated 69/100!

Richard Thompson is also one of the world's most critically acclaimed songwriters. Robert Plant, REM, Elvis Costello, Los Lobos, David Byrne, Del McCoury, Bonnie Raitt and many others have recorded his work. From his teenage years as a founding member of the pioneering British band Fairport Convention, through the enduring partnership of folk-rock duo Richard and Linda Thompson, to over 25 years as a solo artist - Richard Thompson's massive body of work includes 40 albums and numerous film soundtracks (including the documentary Grizzly Man). Richard has earned many of the industry's most coveted awards including the Mojo Les Paul Award, the Orville H Gibson Award (guitar) and an Ivor Novello Award (songwriting). His genre-defying mastery of both acoustic and electric guitar, along with his dizzying energy and onstage wit continue to earn Richard Thompson generations of new fans and a place as one of the most distinctive and iconoclastic virtuosos in rock history.

Richard Thompson, offers a new record, "Electric", full of gifted songwriting and virtuosic guitar playing. After taking the bold step of recording his last album of new songs live, when it came to recording "Electric", Thompson turned to Buddy Miller (Robert Plant, Solomon Burke, Emmylou Harris. Patty Griffin) to produce, recording at Miller's home studio in Nashville, TN. Miller who himself is renowned for his guitar skills recently told Rolling Stone: "I played along on the record, playing rhythm guitar for him, and I got a two-week guitar lesson while he camped out in my house." The record was recorded as an electric trio with Thompson, drummer Michael Jerome and bassist Taras Prodaniuk, who both sing background vocals. Jerome and Prodaniuk formed part of the band which recorded and toured the UK Top Twenty album DREAM ATTIC, released in August 2010.

Guests on "Electric" include the legendary Alison Krauss who joins Thompson on "The Snow Goose", while English singer-songwriter Siobhan Maher Kennedy (formerly with River City People and now resident in Nashville) adds vocals on several tracks as well. Fiddle great Stuart Duncan also plays on the record; one of America's leading bluegrass musicians he played on recent albums by Robert Plant/Alison Krauss and Elvis Costello and will be familiar in the UK from BBC4's Transatlantic Sessions.

Richard Thompson himself commented that: "We did it ridiculously quickly. It was just stupid. But it sounds great. It turned out surprisingly funky, sort of a new genre - folk-funk. It's quite snappy, somewhere between Judy Collins and Bootsy Collins."

"Guitarist and producer Buddy Miller (who's collaborated with Emmylou Harris, Dave Alvin, Gillian Welch, and Robert Plant's Band of Joy) adds a touch of twang to Celtic-rock pioneer Richard Thompson's latest album. Thompson, long regarded as one of the best axe slingers around, seems rejuvenated on these vibrant sessions... His songwriting is rock solid... And the distinctive Celtic influence, which has waxed and waned throughout his career, is front and center... Overall, this production has a classic feel unblemished by trendy studio technique... [O]ne of today's most commanding and original talents." - Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, May/June 2013, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4/5

• 180 Gram Double LP
• Limited to 2000 Copies
• Gatefold Jacket
• Produced by Buddy Miller
• Includes 4 of the bonus tracks from the deluxe version
• Guest Artist Alison Krauss
• Premium Audiophile Limited Edition
• Manufactured & Hand Assembled in USA

LP1 - Side One:
1. Stony Ground
2. Salford Sunday
3. Sally B
4. Stuck On The Treadmill
LP1 - Side Two:
1. My Enemy
2. Good Things Happen To Bad People
3. Where's Home?
4. Another Small Thing In Her Favour
LP2 - Side Three:
1. Straight And Narrow
2. The Snow Goose
3. Saving The Good Stuff For You
LP2 - Side Four:
1. Will You Dance, Charlie Boy (Bonus Track)
2. I Found A Stray (Bonus Track)
3. The Rival (Bonus Track)
4. The Tic-Tac Man (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like