Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Virgin


Roxy Music Roxy Music Super Deluxe Edition 3CD & DVD Box Set

Roxy Music

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
445th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition 3CD, DVD & Book Box Set!
Album Remixed In 5.1 By Steven Wilson!
Includes Previously Unheard Material!

The 1972 debut album by the glam/art rock band hit #10 in the UK charts. The band's glamorous style was showcased in the lyrics and the 1950's style album cover. In 2003, Rolling Stone magazine picked the album as number 62 in its list of the best debut albums of all time.

Every so often an album comes along that changes not just the rules but the game, opening new possibilities for music. In America in the late 1960s, The Velvet Underground & Nico was one such record. And in Britain, released on June 16, 1972, the self-titled debut album by Roxy Music would be another.

From the first lines of the opening track, "Re-Make/Re-Model" -- "I tried, but I could not find a way, looking back all I did was look away" -- to the final "Should make the cognoscenti think" lyric of the closing song, "Bitters End," it was immediately clear that Roxy Music's first record was an album like no other.

By the time the album was released, the band had fewer than ten gigs to their name, they had no two tracks in their repertoire that were alike, and critics simply couldn't pin down their influences. As Richard Williams said at the time in Melody Maker, "If Roxy Music go very much further, they'll be one of the great success stories of modern times."

45 years later, with the group's involvement, we get an opportunity to assess the album and listen as Roxy evolved and developed. The 3CD/DVD Roxy Music box set provides a thrilling insight into the world of Roxy Music in 1971/1972, starting with the demo tape that caught the attention of writer Richard Williams that ultimately led to their deal with EG Management and then Island Records.

Included are the John Peel BBC Sessions which saw the group honing their craft as they prepared to record their debut album. The second CD in the set captures something very special with unheard glimpses into Roxy's working methods in the studio. Alternate session versions are offered for every album track, plus their first single, "Virginia Plain."

The original album is presented in the 1999 Bob Ludwig master, while the remainder of the audio has been mastered by Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road Studios.

The set's DVD includes promos and BBC TV appearances, as well as rare footage of Roxy at the Bataclan Club in Paris in November 1972, the only surviving visual document of this line-up live on stage. To round off the audio/visual elements of the set, lifetime admirer Steven Wilson has mixed the album into 5.1 DTS 96/24 and Dolby AC3 Sound.

The box set also contains a 136-page book, featuring many rare and previously unpublished photographs and an essay by aforementioned Guardian journalist and author Richard Williams, the man who first wrote about the group in Melody Maker in 1971.

Roxy Music release an expanded edition of their ground-breaking debut album to mark its 45th anniversary.

This Super Deluxe Edition includes rare and previously unavailable material never-heard-before outside of Roxy's inner circle. Audio includes the original album, BBC Sessions & In Concert performance, 1971 demo tape and 'In-Session' performances. DVD includes an unreleased Bataclan Paris performance (1972), UK TV performances and 5.1 album mix. Package also includes a 136 page hard-cover book including unseen photographers and memorabilia.

• 45th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition Box Set
• 3CD & 1DVD
• Previously unheard material
• Original 1971 demos
• Original album plus alternative takes
• The BBC Sessions
• DVD: Region All
• Rare video footage
• 5.1 album mix by Steven Wilson (5.1 DTS 96/24 and Dolby AC3 Sound)
• 136-page hardback book with an essay by Richard Williams, including many rare and unpublished photographs
• Made in Czech Republic

CD 1 - The Album:

1. Re-Make/Re-Model
2. Ladytron
3. If There is Something
4. Virginia Plain
5. 2 HB
6. The BOB (Medley)
7. Chance Meeting
8. Would You Believe?
9. Sea Breezes
10. Bitters End

CD 2 - Demos & Out-Takes:
Early Demos - May '71
1. Ladytron
2. 2 HB
3. Chance Meeting
4. The BOB (Medley)
Album Out-Takes (March 1972):
5. Instrumental
6. Re-Make/Re-Model
7. Ladytron
8. If There Is Something
9. 2 HB
10. The BOB (Medley)
11. Chance Meeting
12. Would You Believe?
13. Sea Breezes
14. Bitters End
15. Virginia Plain

CD 3 - The BBC Sessions:
The Peel Sessions January 4, 1972
1. If There Is Something
2. The BOB (Medley)
3. Would You Believe?
4. Sea Breezes
5. Re-Make/Re-Model
The Peel Sessions May 23, 1972
6. 2 HB
7. Ladytron
8. Chance Meeting
The Peel Sessions July 18, 1972
9. Virginia Plain
BBC In Concert August 3, 1972
10. The BOB (Medley)
11. Sea Breezes
12. Virginia Plain
13. Chance Meeting
14. Re-Make/Re-Model

1. Re-Make/Re-Model (The Royal College Of Art, June 6, 1972)
2. Ladytron (The Old Grey Whistle Test, June 20, 1972)
3. Virginia Plain (Top Of The Pops, August 24, 1972)
4. Re-Make/Re-Model (Full House, November 25, 1972)
5. Ladytron (Full House, November 25, 1972)
6. Would You Believe? (French TV, Bataclan, Paris, November 26, 1972)
7. If There Is Something (French TV, Bataclan, Paris, November 26, 1972)
8. Sea Breezes (French TV, Bataclan, Paris, November 26, 1972)
9. Virginia Plain (French TV, Bataclan, Paris, November 11, 1972)

Customers Also Like