Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Rufus Wainwright & Amsterdam Sinfonietta Rufus Wainwright & Amsterdam Sinfonietta (Live) LP

Rufus Wainwright & Amsterdam Sinfonietta

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 26, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Live Recordings With Prestigious All String Ensemble On Vinyl LP!
Spanning French Baroque To Classical Arias To Contemporary Music!
Utterly Unique & Breathtaking!

In January 2017 Rufus Wainwright toured with the prestigious all string ensemble Amsterdam Sinfonietta through the Netherlands. Critics and audiences of the ten concerts were enraptured by the intimacy and intensity of the program curated by Wainwright. The concerts reflected the immense bandwidth of Wainwright's musical influences and interests from Verdi Arias to Leonard Cohen and Joni Mitchell, from Rameau pieces to the American songbook and French chanson and from Wainwright's beloved Berlioz to his family's and his own songs, some of them written for this program.

The emotional centerpiece of the album is Wainwright's almost 9 minute version of late Canadian singer songwriter Lhasa de Sela's harrowing "I'm Going In", a song she wrote about her own death from cancer at the age of 37.

All arrangements were created specifically for the Amsterdam Sinfonietta and around Wainwright's voice that is truly at the peak of its power. The artistic kinship between Wainwright and the Amsterdam Sinfonietta lead by Candida Thompson is astounding and make these live recordings into something utterly unique and breathtaking.

The album was mixed by multiple Grammy winner Ryan Freeland and mastered by Ruairi O'Flaherty, both in Los Angeles, and is comprised of live recordings from five of the ten concerts.

"These were some of the most challenging and most fulfilling shows I have done in my life," said Wainwright. "Never have I sung so many songs from such different styles and worlds of music from French baroque to classical arias to contemporary music. I don't think this would have been possible without the Amsterdam Sinfonietta and Candida Thompson. I was caught, uplifted, secure, challenged in their beautiful string playing."


  • Vinyl LP
  • Live recordings from 5 concerts


Side A:

  1. How Deep Is The Ocean
  2. Excursion à Venise
  3. Tristes Apprêts
  4. Go Leave
  5. Gay Messiah
  6. Who By Fire

Side B:

  1. Argentina
  2. I'm Going In
  3. L'île Inconnue
  4. Arachne
  5. Amsterdam

Customers Also Like