Genre: Folk
Label: Ramseur
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Samantha Crain A Small Death LP

Samantha Crain

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Life Affirming Album On Vinyl LP!
Pressed at QRP!

NPR's The 50 Best Albums Of 2020 - Rated 25/50!

It's been just under three years since Samantha Crain released her 5th album and the elapsed time it took to make this 6th record was troubled to say the least. In 2017, a fusion of injuries sustained in multiple car wrecks, tendinitis, carpal tunnel, and psychosomatic manifestation of physical ailments caused debilitating alternations of pain, numbness, and paralysis in her hands and wrists. It made playing instruments impossible. A dark period of time ensued as a result, assuming she had lost her method of self-expression and her vehicle of creativity. Through various forms of mental and physical therapies, she slowly regained the sustained use of her hands again. Having come to terms with the evident ending of her time as a performing singer/songwriter, she felt as if she'd entered into a "bonus round" and immediately went to work playing and writing again, this time with a newly found intensity of joy and sorrow. The songs sprung out, desperate to communicate her strenuous journey.

With a clear vision of the album that the songs were forming, she took on the producing role herself and recorded the record in 12 days at Lunar Manor Studio in Oklahoma City. She's written an album beautifully composed and arranged, her voice sounding stronger than ever, and proving more so that she's a brilliant songwriter who deserves to be valued, appreciated, and recognized. She embodies the spirit of a true artist, aspiring to write, record, and play as much music as she can after her shifts at a local grocery market. This monumental, life affirming, and exquisite album is a genuine representation of Samantha's authenticity as an artist and the inspiration of her sojourn is remarkable.

'I can't say the things I need to,' Samantha Crain frets during 'Echo,' the opening track of her song cycle, A Small Death. In fact, that song and the 10 that follow it are works of stunning poetic economy and clarity. The Oklahoma-based Choctaw singer-songwriter offers impossibly perceptive vignettes of shedding toxic friendship ('Constructive Eviction'), the mutual embarrassment of high school reunions ('Reunion'), the strangeness of receding memory ('Joey') and the perverse valor of children trying to be what they think adults require ('Tough For You'). That's all the more striking considering that Crain started the writing process during a pre-COVID period of profound disruption; a series of car accidents had aggravated a nerve injury and left her without use of her hands. Crain worked her way back to functionality and produced the album herself, arriving at beguiling arrangements, sculpted with woodwinds, horns, synthesizers, piano, pedal steel and tape loops, without ever allowing herself the easy out of a guitar solo.
-Jewly Hight (WNXP 91.ONE), NPR The 50 Best Albums Of 2020 - Rated 25/50


  • Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings


Side A:

  1. An Echo
  2. Pastime
  3. Holding To The Edge Of NIght
  4. High Horse
  5. Reunion

Side B:

  1. Joey
  2. Constructive Eviction
  3. Garden Dove
  4. Tough For You
  5. When We Remain
  6. Little Bits

Customers Also Like