Genre: Jazz
Label: Vinyl Passion
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sarah Vaughan In The Land Of Hi-Fi DMM 180g Import LP

Sarah Vaughan

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Original Album + Bonus Tracks On 180g Vinyl LP!

In the Land of Hi-Fi is one of Sarah's best albums. The songs are terrific, the arrangements dynamic, the orchestra a blast, the recording quality first-rate. Accompanied by an all-star orchestra arranged by Ernie Wilkins and featuring J.J. Johnson on trombone, Roy Haynes on drums and altoist Cannonball Adderley (who was near the beginning of his career), the great singer is in superior form during these performances, particularly on "Soon", "Cherokee", "I'll Never Smile Again" and "An Occasional Man". She gives brassy, Sassy-fied treatments to be-bop jazz standards such as "How High the Moon" and "Cherokee". This reissue adds four bonus tracks with the Hugo Peretti Orchestra. All tracks were recorded in New York in 1955.

• 180g Vinyl
• Direct Metal Master
• Import
• Made in the E.U.
• Bonus Tracks

Sarah Vaughan, vocals
Ernie Wilkins Orchestra (A1-A8, B1-B4) - New York City, October 25-27, 1955:
Ernie Royal, trumpet
Bernie Glow, trumpet
J.J. Johnson, trombone
Kai Winding, trombone
Cannonball Adderley, alto saxophone
Sam Marowitz, alto saxophone
Jerome Richardson, flute, tenor saxophone
Jimmy Jones, piano
Turk Van Lake, guitar
Joe Benjamin, bass
Roy Haynes, drums
Hugo Peretti Orchestra (Bonus Tracks)

Side A:

1. Over The Rainbow
2. Soon
3. Cherokee
4. I'll Never Smile Again
5. Don't Be On The Outside
6. How High The Moon
7. It Shouldn't Happen To A Dream
8. Sometimes I'm Happy
Side B:
1. Maybe
2. An Occasional Man
3. Why Can't I
4. Oh My
Bonus Tracks:
5. Whatever Lola Wants (New York City, March 17, 1955)
6. Never (New York City, October 10, 1955)
7. The Other Woman (New York City, October 10, 1955)
8. Experience Unnecessary (New York City, March 20, 1955)

Customers Also Like