Genre: Jazz
Label: Verve


Sarah Vaughan Sarah Vaughan Mono SACD

Sarah Vaughan

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player!

Sarah Vaughan's self-titled album featuring Clifford Brown has always been a landmark of her recording career; her warm, lush voice was in absolute top form and the musical backing was nothing short of stellar.

"She might sound - intentionally - as woozy as a drunken sailor or as prim as a schoolgirl." That's one of the ways Michael Ullman conveys the extraordinary vocal range that Sarah Vaughan had. That unparalleled flexibility gave her expressive art an itinerant quality; as Ullman writes, "She was always on the move."

Here Vaughan moves across bar lines, even through octaves, echoedd by the equally nimble voice of trumpeter Clifford Brown, who manages to show off his virtuosity without upstaging hers. Vaughan's gifts are nowhere more evident than on the masterpiece "Embraceable You", which is as touching as it is technically impressive.

"One of her best on record... There is a wonderfully sustained mood of relaxation and emotional warmth." - Down Beat 1956.

Recorded December 1954 in New York City. Original recordings produced by Bob Shad.

Musicians: Sarah Vaughan, vocal; Clifford Brown, trumpet; Herbie Mann, flute; Paul Quinichette, tenor sax; Jimmy Jones, piano; Joe Benjamin, bass; Roy Haynes, drums; Ernie Wilkins, arranger, conductor.

1. Lullaby of Birdland - composite master take
2. April in Paris
3. He's My Guy
4. Jim
5. You're Not The Kind
6. Embraceable You
7. I'm Glad There Is You
8. September Song
9. It's Crazy
10. Lullaby Of Birdland - partial alternative take

Track 10 is a bonus Track!

Total Time: 49:13

Customers Also Like