Genre: Classical
Label: Universal
Composer: Schwanengesang
Additional Artists: Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau


Schubert Schwanengesang Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SHM-SACD

Gerald Moore

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD.

Fischer-Dieskau was ranked the second greatest singer of the century (after Jussi Björling) by Classic CD (United Kingdom) "Top Singers of the Century" Critics' Poll (June 1999). The French dubbed him "Le miracle Fischer-Dieskau" and Elisabeth Schwarzkopf called him "a born god who has it all."

Fischer-Dieskau recorded the six Heine songs of Schwanengesang early in his career (HMV mono ALP1066, 10/53—nla) and he also recorded the complete group for EMI in the early sixties (HMV ASD544, 9/63 – nla) and later for DG in the seventies, always with Gerald Moore.

Pianist Gerald Moore accompanies baritone Fischer-Dieskau for this recoring of Schubert's song cycle Schwanengesang.

• Super High Material Super Audio CD
• SHM-SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• Single-Layer Stereo SHM-SACD, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!

Gerald Moore, piano
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, baritone

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Schwanengesang D957
1. Liebesbotschaft (Rellstab)
2. Kriegers Ahnung (Rellstab)
3. Fruhlingssehnsucht (Rellstab)
4. Standchen (Rellstab)
5. Aufenthalt (Rellstab)
6. In der Ferne (Rellstab)
7. Abschied (Rellstab)
8. Der Atlas (Heine)
9. Ihr Bild (Heine)
10. Das Fischermadchen (Heine)
11. Die Stadt (Heine)
12. Am Meer (Heine)
13. Der Doppelganger (Heine)
14. Die Taubenpost (Seidl)

Customers Also Like